March 11, 2013
    Zagunis named to Johnny Bench Award Watch List
    Tech's catcher is one of 48 up for the national honor
    2013 Johnny Bench Award presented by Watch List

    Blake Austin JR Auburn University
    Brett Austin SO North Carolina State University
    Dan Bethea SR St. John's University
    Austin Bossart SO University of Pennsylvania
    Ryan Breen SR University of Central Florida
    Garrett Custons SR Air Force Academy
    Mike Danaher SR Binghamton University
    Blair DeBord JR Kansas State University
    Brian Dixon JR University of New Orleans
    Kaiana Eldredge JR University of Kansas
    Zane Evans JR Georgia Tech
    Drew Farber JR UNC Wilmington
    Jacob Felts JR University of Texas
    Aramis Garcia SO Florida International University
    Mitchell Garver SR University of New Mexico
    Kyle Gibson JR University of Louisville
    Grayson Greiner SO University of South Carolina
    Radley Haddad SR Butler University
    Chris Hoo JR Cal Poly
    Nate Irving SO University of Virginia
    Blake Johnson SR Arkansas-Little Rock
    Jose Longoria SR Grambling State University
    Adam Martin JR Western Carolina University
    Stephen McGee JR Florida State University
    Riley Moore SO University of Arizona
    Spencer Navin JR Vanderbilt University
    Grant Nelson SR Saint Louis University
    Ramon Ortega SR Manhattan College
    Matt Paré SR Boston College
    Jordan Parris JR Tennessee Tech University
    Colton Plaia SR Loyola Marymount University
    Jake Rodriguez JR Oregon State University
    Tyler Ross JR Louisiana State University
    Tanner Rust JR New Mexico State University
    Scott Sarratt SR Georgia State University
    Brandon Schott SR University of Maryland Eastern Shore
    Kyle Schwarber SO Indiana University
    Ronnie Shaeffer SR UC Irvine
    Adam Sonabend JR Eastern Michigan University
    Elvin Soto SO University of Pittsburgh
    Michael Spano SR Florida Atlantic University
    Andrew Stumph SR Texas State University
    Alex Swim SR Elon University
    Stuart Turner JR University of Mississippi
    Luke Voit SR Missouri State University
    Matt Winn SO Virginia Military Institute
    Jake Wise JR University of Arkansas
    Mack Zagunis SO Virginia Tech

    BLACKSBURG - Virginia Tech's Mark Zagunis is one of 48 catchers to be named to the 2013 Johnny Bench Award Watch List as announced today by the Greater Wichita Area Sports Commission.

    Zagunis has started in all 16 games this season for the Hokies and has reached base in all of them. He's one of the top offensive weapons for the Hokies this season, which includes tied for the team-lead in hits (23), doubles (6), total bases (32) and stolen bases (7), while he is second in runs scored (15) and third in batting (.359) and on-base percentage (.431).

    The Cinnaminson, N.J. native has made 10 starts behind the plate this season and has helped the pitching staff post a 3.99 ERA through 16 games. He has committed just one error so far this year.

    Zagunis is one of six catchers from the ACC selected to the watch list.

    The list for the Johnny Bench Award, presented by, will be updated to include other candidates through May 6, then narrowed to a semifinalist list on May 16. Ballots will be sent to the national voting panel at the end of May, which will determine the three finalists - announced on June 4.

    A final vote among the national committee will occur during the College World Series. All finalists will be brought to Wichita and the winner will be announced at teh 15th Annual Greater Wichita Sports Banquet on June 27.

    For updates on Virginia Tech baseball, follow the Hokies on Twitter (@VT_Baseball).

    HokieSports Shop
    Today's Live Events
    © 2016,