May 15, 2014
Zagunis named semifinalist for 2014 Johnny Bench Award
Junior catcher is one of 15 players to move on to national voting panel ballot
The Johnny Bench Award semifinalists

(in alphabetical order)

• Will Allen, University of Mississippi
• Brett Austin, North Carolina State University
• Anthony Azar, Sam Houston State University
• Aramis Garcia, Florida International University
• Grayson Greiner University of South Carolina
• Taylor Gushue, University of Florida
• Sean Hagen, Eastern Kentucky University
• Mike Hollenbeck, Illinois State University
• Sean McHugh, Purdue University
• Brian O'Keefe, Saint Joseph's University
• Max Pentecost, Kennesaw State University
• Alex Real, University of New Mexico
• Kyle Schwarber, Indiana University
• Mark Zagunis, Virginia Tech
• Shane Zeile, UCLA

BLACKSBURGThe Greater Wichita Area Sports Commission announced today the 15 semifinalists for the 2014 Johnny Bench Award presented by and Virginia Tech junior catcher Mark Zagunis has been included on the list.

The Cinnaminson, N.J., native, enters the weekend with team-leading .332 batting average and has started in every game this season for the Hokies, 50, and has made 158 straight starts. He leads the team with 43 runs scored and 65 hits and is second in slugging percentage (.418), on-base percentage (.432), doubles (10), total bases (82) and stolen bases (15).

Zagunis is the only player in the ACC that currently with 20-plus multi-hit games and 11-plus multi-RBI games, while ranking in the top 10 in five categores.

Ballots will be sent to the national voting panel at the end of May for a vote to determine the three finalists. The finalists will be announced June 3, 2014. A final vote among the national committee will occur during the College World Series. All finalists will be brought to Wichita and the winner will be announced at the 17th Annual Greater Wichita Sports Banquet on June 26, 2014.

For updates on Virginia Tech baseball, follow the Hokies on Twitter

HokieSports Shop