Tech hosts Hokie Open
Asia Washington and Chris Padilla take first place
November 3, 2007

BLACKSBURG, Va. - Freshman Asia Washington finished first in the women's standings and Chris Padilla took the event title in the men's race to lead the Virginia Tech cross country teams at the Hokie Open on Saturday morning.

The women's race was a 4k competition on the Virginia Tech Cross Country Course, and Washington led the eight runner field with a 15:05.5 effort. In her third competition of the year, Washington recorded her highest finish of the season.

Three more freshmen followed Washington: Jessica Trapeni finished as the runner-up in 15:13.3, while Lindsey King was third in 15:18.4. Jackie Merrick came in fourth place at 15:22.2. Sophomore Amber Sholl completed the course in 16:07.9 and Megan Fuson rounded out Tech's presence in the field with a time of 17:23.3.

Chris Padilla was the first finisher 12-man field to earn the first event title of his career. The Shelton, Conn., native completed the 6k course in 18:48.4, and was followed by freshmen Ryan Witt and Matt Saunders. Witt completed the course in 19:11.2 to finish third and Saunders finished in 19:21.1 for fourth place. Eddie Judge finished sixth in 19:42.6.

The Hokies resume their postseason competition at 11 a.m. next Saturday at the NCAA Southeast Regional Championships in Louisville, Ky.

Hokie Open
Blacksburg, Va.
Virginia Tech Cross Country Course

Women's Results - 4k
1 Asia Washington FR Virginia Tech 15:05.5
2 Jessica Trapeni FR Virginia Tech 15:13.3
3 Lindsey King FR Virginia Tech 15:18.4
4 Jackie Merrick FR Virginia Tech 15:22.2
5 Amber Sholl SO Virginia Tech 16:07.9
6 Melissa Martens --- Unattached 16:14.6
7 Megan Fuson FR Virginia Tech 17:23.3
8 Rebecca Slivka --- Unattached 18:45.5

Men's Results - 6k
1 Chris Padilla SO Virginia Tech 18:48.4
2 Tim Sykes --- Unattached 18:58.8
3 Ryan Witt FR Virginia Tech 19:11.2
4 Matt Saunders FR Virginia Tech 19:21.1
5 Kyle Guglielmo JR Unattached 19:22.7
6 Eddie Judge FR Virginia Tech 19:42.6
7 Mark Hopely FR Unattached 19:47.3
8 Nick McLaughlin FR Unattached 20:02.1
9 Kyle Davidson FR Liberty 20:15.2
10 Chris Walizer FR Unattached 20:23.7
11 Joe Greer FR Unattached 20:32.0
12 Kieran Lee FR Unattached 21:09.9