March 20, 2009
    Football team awards handed out
    The Notebook
    The Virginia Tech football team awards for the 2008 season were handed out last night at a cookout held outside the Merryman Center. The following awards were voted on by the team:

    Permanent Team Captains: Brett Warren, Ryan Shuman, Orion Martin, Victor "Macho" Harris
    Outstanding Defensive Lineman - Jason Worilds
    Outstanding Defensive Linebacker - Brett Warren
    Outstanding Defensive Back - Victor "Macho" Harris
    Outstanding Offensive Lineman - Ryan Shuman
    Outstanding Offensive Receiver - Greg Boone
    Outstanding Offensive Back - Darren Evans
    Outstanding Specialist - Dustin Keys
    Most Valuable Player - Victor "Macho" Harris

    The following awards were voted on by the coaching staff:
    John William Schneider Award (this is given in memory of former player William Schneider, who was killed in an automobile crash. It goes to a player who excels in athletics, scholarship and leadership): Dustin Pickle

    Paul Torgersen Award (given in honor of former Tech President Paul Torgersen, who has served the university with distinction for three decades in a variety of capacities. The award goes to a player who shows a commitment to hard work and great effort every time he takes the field): Sean Glennon

    Williams - Moss Award (named in honor of John E. Williams, a former Dean of the College, and Joseph S. Moss, a former player and coach at Tech. The award goes to the player who demonstrates the highest quality of leadership and character): Brett Warren

    Paul Frederick Cobb Award (this award is given in memory of former Tech player Freddie Cobb, who was awarded the Navy Cross for heroism in Vietnam. It goes to the most spirited player): Jonas Houseright

    Lawrence R. White Award (this award is given in honor of the late Lawrence White, a former Tech linebacker who excelled in the weight room and was a positive role model for all Tech football players. It is given to the team's most outstanding strength and conditioning athlete): Devin Perez

    Wes Worsham Award (named for long-time Tech supporter Wes Worsham, this award is given to a player who exceeds expectations and surprises everyone with his performance): Purnell Sturdivant

    Edward G. Ferrell Award (this award is given in honor of the late Eddie Ferrell, whose hard work, sense of humor, devotion and unselfishness touched thousands of athletes during his 28-year career as a trainer at Tech. It is given to the player who best exemplifies hard work and unselfishness): Cory Holt

    Outstanding Senior Award: Orion Martin

    For updates on Virginia Tech football, follow the Hokies on Twitter (@VT_Football).

    HokieSports Shop
    Today's Live Events
    © 2016,