Michael Vick Wins Top Award At Tech Football Banquet

January 3, 2000

NEW ORLEANS, La. - Redshirt freshman quarterback Michael Vick was named the Virginia Tech football team's most valuable player during the team's annual football awards banquet held Sunday night at the Hilton New Orleans Riverside. The award was voted on by the Tech players.

Vick burst on the college football scene with a list of first-year accomplishments unequalled by any Tech player. Those accomplishments included leading the nation in passing efficiency, earning first-team All-America honors and being named both the BIG EAST Offensive Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year. Vick finished third in the voting for the Heisman Trophy, matching the highest finish ever by a freshman in the voting.

The individual awards for the outstanding players on the team, as voted by their teammates, went to: Corey Moore, outstanding defensive lineman; Jamel Smith, outstanding linebacker; Anthony Midget, outstanding defensive back; Keith Short, outstanding offensive lineman; AndrÚ Davis, outstanding receiver; Shyrone Stith, outstanding offensive back; Shayne Graham, outstanding specialist; and Carl Bradley, outstanding senior.

The Lawrence R. White Award for the team's most outstanding strength and conditioning athlete went to linebacker Michael Hawkes, while the Williams-Moss Award for the player who demonstrates the highest quality of leadership in practice and in games was won by defensive end Chris Cyrus.

Three former Blacksburg High School stars also won major awards for their contributions this season. Center Tim Schnecker won the Wes Worsham Award, which goes to a player who exceeds expectations, works hard and is consistent in his performance. Reserve quarterback Greg Shockley and backup safety Steven Hunt shared the John William Schneider Award for excellence in athletics, academics and leadership.

The Freddie Cobb Award for the player who showed the most enthusiasm and contributed the most to team spirit was won by punter Jimmy Kibble.

Senior defensive tackle Nathaniel Williams and senior defensive end John Engelberger also won major awards. Williams won the Edward G. Ferrell Award, which goes to the football player who best exemplifies hard work and unselfishness. Engelberger was the recipient of the Paul Torgersen Award for his commitment to hard work and great effort every day.

During the banquet, Tech named its permanent captains for the 1999 season - Corey Moore, Keith Short, Michael Hawkes, Anthony Midget and John Engelberger.

The Hokies also presented their leading point-winner awards for defense. End Corey Moore won for linemen; Jamel Smith won for linebackers; and rover Cory Bird topped the defensive backs.

Fifteen players were named to the Hokies' Chain Gang, which is composed of the offensive players who graded a winning percentage in at least eight of the team's 11 games. The 15 members were Derek Carter, AndrÚ Davis, Jarrett Ferguson, Cullen Hawkins, Dave Kadela, AndrÚ Kendrick, Anthony Lambo, Matt Lehr, Josh Redding, Keith Short, Bob Slowikowski, Shyrone Stith, Michael Vick, Matt Wincek and Browning Wynn.

Tech honored 61 lettermen, including 11 players who earned their fourth letters. The four-year letter winners were Shane Beamer, Carl Bradley, John Engelberger, Shayne Graham, Michael Hawkes, Steven Hunt, Caleb Hurd, Jimmy Kibble, Anthony Midget, Jamel Smith and Nathaniel Williams.

Tech, which finished regular-season play 11-0 for the first time in school history, is scheduled to play Florida State for the national championship in Tuesday's Nokia Sugar Bowl game.

Q. Will normal game-day ABC licenses be in affect?
No. Due to the first-come, first-served parking the Athletic Fund (Hokie Club) ABC allowances will not be honored. Per state code, open containers are prohibited from public consumption.