Beamer Hauls In Another Award
Coach wins Robinson Award for Coach of the Year
January 14, 2000

Virginia Tech Head Coach Frank Beamer, who guided the Hokies to the national championship game, an 11-0 regular season and their highest-ranking ever, was awarded the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award Thursday night at the Phoenician Resort Hotel in Phoenix, Ariz.

Beamer was the choice of the Football Writers Association of America, beating out June Jones of Hawaii and Glen Mason of Minnesota.

"This is such an honor," Beamer said. "It was such an amazing season and it shows that Virginia Tech has arrived."

The annual award has been given out since 1957. In 1996, the FBWAA agreed to name the award after Robinson, the winningest coach in Division I college football. Only Division I-A coaches are eligible.

"Since it's been associated with Eddie Robinson, it really means much more because he stood for everything that was right for college football," Beamer said.

Last year's winner was Phillip Fulmer, who guided Tennessee to an unbeaten season and the national title.