Hall Named a Thorpe Award Semifinalist
Junior cornerback one of 12 named to the list
November 4, 2003

OKLAHOMA CITY - The candidates for the 2003 Jim Thorpe Award, presented annually to the nation's best college defensive back, has been narrowed to 12 and Virginia Tech junior cornerback DeAngelo Hall is one of the semifinalists.

The other 11 on the list are: Jamaal Brimmer (UNLV, S, Jr.), Josh Bullocks (Nebraska, S, So.), James Butler (Georgia Tech, S, Jr.), Jason David (Washington St. C, Sr.), Keiwan Ratliff (Florida, C, Sr.), Stuart Schweigert (Purdue, S, Sr.), Derrick Strait (Oklahoma, C, Sr.), Sean Taylor (Miami, S, Sr.), Mark Walker (TCU, S, Jr.), Corey Webster (LSU, C, Sr.) and Darrent Williams (OSU, C, Jr.).

Three finalists will be selected Nov. 25. The winner will be announced on ESPN's College Football Awards Show, broadcast from Disney World on Dec. 11. Formal presentation of the award will be in Oklahoma City, at the annual Jim Thorpe Awards ceremonies, Feb. 9, 2004.

Hall (Chesapeake, Va.) is the reigning BIG EAST Conference Defensive Player of the Week following a big game against then-No. 2 Miami. He had 11 tackles, a forced and recovered fumble and a touchdown.

Despite not getting thrown at very often, Hall has 42 total tackles, one interception, three pass break ups, a forced fumble and a fumble recovery. He also has five receptions for 73 yards and is averaging 14.2 yards per punt return.

This season, he has scored a touchdown four different ways - rushing, receiving, punt return, fumble return - and has scored five different ways in his career (also has an interception return for a score).

The Thorpe Award has been presented since 1986, based on performance on the field, athletic ability and character. A "Screening Committee" of the Jim Thorpe Association researches and follows the performances of defensive backs as they compete through the season. The committee determines the semifinalists the first week in November and will select three finalists the Monday before Thanksgiving. A nationwide panel of former coaches, players and sportswriters and sportscasters then votes to select the winner.

Voted the 20th century's greatest athlete in a poll by ABC's Wide World of Sports, Jim Thorpe was a two-time All-American running back and defensive back, the winner of decathlon and pentathlon gold medals in the 1912 Olympics, and a standout in both professional football and baseball. He was the first president of what became the National Football League.