Vick Named an ESPY Finalist
QB up for CFB Player of the Year
January 19, 2000

BLACKSBURG - Virginia Tech quarterback Michael Vick was named a finalist for an ESPY Award Wednesday by ESPN. Vick, along with Ron Dayne and Joe Hamilton, are the finalists for the College Football Player of the Year Award, which will be handed out on Feb. 14 at the MGM Grand Hotel in Las Vega, Nev. Vick, along with his mother, will be on hand for the live show.

Top athletes, teams and coaches of the 1990s will be honored along with the annual winners for the eighth annual ESPY Awards, which will be aired at 8 p.m. on ESPN.

Nominees were chosen by the ESPY Select Nominating Committee of sports executives, journalists and retired athletes. The ESPY Finalist Committee, made up of top athletes and coaches along with ESPN/ABC personnel, will select the winners.

Vick, who was a finalist for the 1999 Heisman Trophy with the other two finalists, finished third behind Dayne (the winner) and Hamilton.