Vick Named Semifinalist For O'Brien Award
Sophomore one of eight up for top QB award
November 9, 2000

BLACKSBURG, Va. - Eight semifinalists for the 2000 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award were announced Thursday by the National College Football Awards Association in the organization's first joint effort among college football awards programs.

The quarterbacks were chosen by the O'Brien Advisory Committee, comprised of national sportswriters and commentators. The group narrowed the field of candidates from 26 and will vote again to select the nation's top quarterback.

The eight semifinalists, in alphabetical order, are: Drew Brees, Purdue, Sr.; Eric Crouch, Nebraska, Jr.; Woodrow Dantzler, Clemson, Jr.; Joey Harrington, Oregon, Jr.; Josh Heupel, Oklahoma, Sr.; Marques Tuiasosopo, Washington, Sr.; Michael Vick, Virginia Tech, So.; and Chris Weinke, Florida State, Sr.

The winner of the 2000 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award will be announced on the 2000 Home Depot College Football Show, 9 p.m., EST, Thursday, Dec. 7, 2000. The show will be broadcast live from the Atlantic Dance Hall on the BoardWalk at Disney, right next to Epcot in Orlando, Fla. The winner and two runners-up will be honored at the 24th annual O'Brien Awards Dinner, Feb., 19, 2001, at the Fort Worth Club in Texas.

Vick is once again the youngest player on the list. Last year, he made the semifinals as a redshirt freshman.