Sporting News Names André Davis Socrates Award Winner
Davis to be presented award at ceremony in Detroit
January 22, 2002

Detroit, Mich. - As the official radio partner and returning sponsor of the March of Dimes National Athletic Awards, Sporting News Radio will present its third annual Socrates Award at this year's March of Dimes Ceremony, held on March 12 at the Fox Theater in Detroit.

The Sporting News Radio Socrates Award is given to a college athlete who best embodies the Socrates Creed "mens sana in corpore sano" or "a strong mind in a strong body." This year's recipient of the Socrates Award is André Davis of Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University.

Davis was chosen by Sporting News Radio listeners and members of the Sporting News Radio Socrates panel to win this award based on his outstanding athletic and academic achievements, as well as community service. He succeeds the 2001 Socrates Award winner, Ben Hamilton of the University of Minnesota, and the inaugural 2000 Socrates Award winner, Drew Brees of Purdue University, as the recipient of the 2002 Sporting News Radio Socrates Award.

As a three-year starter at flanker for Virginia Tech, Davis received All-American honors in 2000 from the American Football Coaches Association. He was named to the All-BIG EAST Team in 2000 and 2001 and to the BIG EAST All-Academic Football team for the past three years. Davis is to receive the NCAA Today's Top VIII award later this month as one of the eight top student athletes in the NCAA. In addition, Davis earned three varsity letters on Virginia Tech's track and field teams. Davis regularly participates in hospital visits and Virginia Tech nights at local elementary schools.

"André Davis is an exceptional student-athlete, and his actions on and off the field are worthy of the Socrates Award," said Terry Brennan of Sporting News Radio. "We are extremely pleased to present André with our third annual Sporting News Radio Socrates Award."

Other finalists for the Socrates Award included: Courtney Choate, University of New Mexico; Zak Kustok, Northwestern University; Nuria Clau, Wake Forest University; Erica Perkins, Washington State University; Joaquin Gonzalez, University of Miami; Eli Manning, University of Mississippi; and Stacey Dales, University of Oklahoma.

Established in 1989, the March of Dimes National Athletic Awards honor the sporting world's best coaches and athletes. James Brown of FOX Sports will be the master of ceremonies for the event on March 12th in Detroit. All funds raised by the event will help the March of Dimes in their mission to prevent birth defects.