Rimington Trophy Finalists Announced
Grove one of six up for the award honoring the nation's top center
December 4, 2003

NEW YORK - Finalists for the Dave Rimington Trophy presented to the outstanding center in college football are Vince Carter of the Oklahoma, Jake Grove of Virginia Tech, Norm Katnik of Southern California, Nick Leckey of Kansas State, Hugh Reilly of Georgia Tech, and Ben Wilkerson of Louisiana State.

The winner will be honored at the awards banquet at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln, Neb., on Dec. 13. Current ESPN personality and former NFLer Mike Golic will be the featured speaker at the annual event.

The four-year old trophy (Nebraska's Dominic Raiola, Ohio State's LeCharles Bentley, and Miami's Brett Romberg are past recipients) is presented byCanon, USA, Black & Decker and Power Sentry. Since its inception the Rimington Trophy Award has raised over $200,000 for the award's benefactor, the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, which is hosted by the Boomer Esiason Foundation that to date has raised over $22,000,000 for CF Research.

Rimington the award's namesake was a consensus first-team All-America center at Nebraska in 1981 and '82-years in which he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.