Beamer Collects Two More Awards
Tech coach wins Bryant, Dodd Awards
January 7, 2000

Virginia Tech head coach Frank Beamer received the Bear Bryant Award as the college football coach of the year at a dinner Jan. 6 in Houston. Beamer beat out Wisconsin coach Barry Alvarez, Mike DuBose of Alabama, Hawaii's June Jones, Glen Mason of Minnesota and Bob Pruett of Marshall. In addition, he beat out Florida State's Bobby Bowden. Bowden's Seminoles beat the Hokies 46-29 in the Sugar Bowl to win the national championship.

"I'm extremely honored to receive this prestigious award after such a legendary coach," Beamer said. "I have the utmost respect for the finalists. This event is a great time for old friends to get together and support a worthy cause."

A silent auction at the dinner helped raise money for the American Heart Association.

Beamer also won the 1999 Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Award as announced on TBS Superstation during halftime of the Micron PC.Com Bowl. Beamer won by the largest margin in the 24-year history of the Dodd Award.

The Award, named for the legendary Georgia Tech football coach, emphasizes the importance of a quality program both on and off the field. It was established in 1976 to honor the Division I coach who exemplifies Dodd‚s philosophy of a winning season coupled with academic excellence. The winner is determined by the votes of all previous Dodd Award winners and a selection panel of those holding varying careers in the college football arena.

Beamer, 53, has accrued an 88-60-2 record in his 13-year tenure with Virginia Tech, guiding the Hokies to three Big East Conference Championships, seven straight winning seasons and their highest-ever national ranking (#2).

Beamer will be honored in March on the Virginia Tech campus in Blacksburg, Va., as the 24th recipient of the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Award.