Michael Vick Wins an ESPY
hokiesports.com - Football
Can't find it?

Or Try Our Site Map

February 14, 2000

Michael Vick finished his freshman campaign Monday night in much the same manner as he began, with a win.

Vick took home the award for College Player of the Year at the 8th annual ESPY awards, presented by the ESPN cable sports network. Vick, a finalist for the 1999 Heisman trophy, beat out some very familiar competition.

University of Wisconsin running back, and Heisman trophy winner, Ron Dayne and fellow Heisman finalist, Georgia Tech quarterback Joey Hamilton, were both nominated for the award. Both Dayne and Hamilton are seniors.

Vick may have to build a new trophy case after winning Monday night. After leading the Hokies to their first perfect season since 1918 Vick was named Big East Player of the Year and Big East Rookie of the Year, a combination never achieved by any player in any conference. Vick was then named a finalist in the Heisman race, finishing third behind Dayne and Hamilton, respectively, before heading off to play for the National Championship.

Vick was also nominated for Play of the Year for a last minute scramble against West Virginia that set up the game winning field goal to keep the Hokies' undefeated season alive. This award was determined by a fan vote held by ESPN.com and ballots at AutoZone. Among the candidates for that award were golfer Payne Stewart, Florida State's Peter Warrick, NFL wide-receiver Kevin Dyson, WNBA player Teresa Weatherspoon, New York Knick Larry Johnson, and the NHL's Brett Hull. Vick's play finished third in the voting. Stewart's putt to win the U.S. Open took first place.

To view other ESPY news visit: 2000 ESPY Awards