Tech men finish second in Commissioner's Trophy standings; women seventh
May 28, 2003

BIG EAST Standings  MenWomen 1.Notre Dame (97)1.Notre Dame (120) 2.VT (75)2.Miami (92) 3.Rutgers (71)3.Villanova (85) 4.UConn (59.5)4.BC (83) 5.Georgetown (55.5)5.Rutgers (78) 6.St. John's (52.5)6.UConn (75.5) 7.BC (52)7.VT (67.5) 8.WVU (50)8.Georgetown (65.5) 9.Pittsburgh (48.5)9.Syracuse (63.5)  Seton Hall (48.5)10.Pittsburgh (55.5) 11.Villanova (48)11.WVU (53) 12.Syracuse (40.5)12.Seton Hall (38) 13.Providence (34.5)13.Providence (30) 14.Miami (30.5)14.St. John's (27.5)
Virginia Tech finished second in the men's standings for the BIG EAST Commissioner's Trophy for the 2002-03 year, while the Hokies came in seventh in the women's standings. Notre Dame took home the Commissioner's Trophy for both the men and the women this past year, which marks the seventh consecutive year the Irish men and women have won the honor.

The BIG EAST office awards the Commissioner's Cup each year based on a point system. Point totals for each sport are based upon regular-season finish when the BIG EAST conducts round-robin competition (field hockey, soccer, volleyball, basketball, baseball, softball, lacrosse) or on championship finish when there is no in-season play. In sports where divisional play is in place (women's soccer, men's basketball), point totals are awarded based on overall league winning percentage at the conclusion of the regular season.

The Tech men finished with 75 points, 22 behind Notre Dame. The Fighting Irish won both the indoor and outdoor track and field championships. The Hokies won the golf championship, placed second at the swimming & diving championships and tied for second in tennis.

In the women's standings, Notre Dame won the volleyball regular-season championship and shared the softball regular-season title. The Irish also won in cross country, swimming & diving, tennis and golf to accumulate 120 points. Miami recorded 92 points to finish in second. Tech amassed 67.5.

The men's trophy was first awarded in 1979-80, the league's inaugural year, while the women's trophy was first awarded in '82-83.