Beamer's Selection Earns Tech Scholarship
Hokies Receive $10,000 Award From AFCA
June 14, 2000

Frank Beamer's selection as the GTE I-A National Coach of the Year last season has earned the Virginia Tech athletic department a $10,000 academic scholarship from the American Football Coaches Association.

The award is part of a $165,000 scholarship program that was created by the AFCA in 1997. Virginia Tech, along with the schools of Beamer's three fellow National Coach of the Year winners from Divisions I-AA, II and III, will receive $10,000 from the Association.

"One of the primary goals of the AFCA has always been to preserve and protect the game of football," AFCA Executive Director Grant Teaff said. "Our Board of Trustees views this scholarship program as another way to achieve that goal and assist a number of schools at several levels of college football. The success and recognition of these coaches has opened the door for their athletic departments to receive these scholarships."

The American Football Coaches Association was founded in 1922 and currently has more than 8,000 members around the world, ranging from the high school level to the professional ranks. According to its constitution, the AFCA was formed, in part, to "maintain the highest possible standards in football and the coaching profession" and to " provide a forum for the discussion and study of all matters pertaining to football and coaching."