Candidates Announced for 2001 Doak Walker Award
Suggs one of the early favorites
August 27, 2001

BLACKSBURG - The SMU Athletic Forum announced Sunday the names of the 43 preseason candidates for the 2001 Doak Walker Award, which is awarded annually to the nation's top college running back.

Among the field of candidates are Northwestern senior Damien Anderson, a 2000 Doak Walker Award finalist who is the nation's leading returning rusher after gaining 1,914 yards last year; San Jose State senior Deonce Whitaker, a 2000 Walker Award semifinalist who was fourth in the nation in rushing last season with a school-record 1,577 yards; and Virginia Tech senior Lee Suggs, who led the nation last year in touchdowns with 28 and scoring at 15.27 points per game.

"The preseason candidates for the 2001 Doak Walker Award are not only being recognized for their excellence on the field, but also for their achievements in the classroom and in the community," said Randall Goss, chair of the SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors. "We look forward to watching the progress of each of these outstanding student-athletes this fall."

The SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will select eight semifinalists on November 8, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will vote on the winner in late November. The National Selection Committee consists of former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, print and electronic media members and selected special representatives.

The winner of the 2001 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on ESPN's Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Thursday, Dec. 6, 2001. The Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet will be held at The Fairmont Hotel in Dallas, Texas, on Tuesday, Jan. 29, 2002.

Former TCU running back LaDainian Tomlinson, the fifth overall selection by the San Diego Chargers in the 2001 NFL Draft, won the 2000 Doak Walker Award.

The complete list of candidates follows:

Candidates for the 2001 Doak Walker Award
Jonathan Adams, (Sr.), Arkansas State
Damien Anderson, (Sr.), Northwestern 
Ladell Betts, (Sr.), Iowa
Kris Briggs, (Jr.), Southern Methodist University
Cedric Cobbs, (Jr.), Arkansas
Avon Cobourne, (Jr.), West Virginia
Jegil Dugger, (Sr.), UAB
Clarence Farmer, (So.), Arizona
Tony Fisher, (Sr.), Notre Dame
Delvon Flowers, (Sr.), Arizona State
DeShaun Foster, (Sr.), UCLA
Earnest Graham, (Jr.), Florida
William Green, (Jr.), Boston College
Quentin Griffin, (Jr.), Oklahoma
Dwone Hicks, (Jr.), Middle Tennessee State
Joe Igber, (Jr.), California
Cortlen Johnson, (Sr.), Colorado
Steve Little, (Sr.), Miami (Ohio)
Montrell Lowe, (Sr.), Purdue 
Sultan McCullough, (Jr.), Southern California
Dicenzo Miller, (Sr.), Mississippi State
David Minnich, (Sr.), Washington State
Mewelde Moore, (So.), Tulane 
James Mungro, (Sr.), Syracuse 
Larry Ned, (Sr.), San Diego State 
Brandon Payne, (Sr.), Akron
Chris Porter, (Sr.), UTEP
Clinton Portis, (Jr.), Miami (Fla.)
Ray Robinson, (Sr.), North Carolina State
Cecil Sapp, (Jr.), Colorado State 
Josh Scobey, (Sr.), Kansas State 
Chad Scott, (So.), Kentucky
Tanardo Sharps, (Jr.), Temple 
Ken Simonton, (Sr.), Oregon State 
Travis Stephens, (Sr.), Tennessee
Lee Suggs, (Jr.), Virginia Tech
Adam Tate, (Sr.), Utah
Chester Taylor, (Sr.), Toledo
LaBrandon Toefield, (So.), Louisiana State 
Deonce Whitaker, (Sr.), San Jose State 
Emmett White, (Sr.), Utah State 
Ricky Williams, (Sr.), Texas Tech 
Travis Zachery, (Sr.), Clemson