Pugh Named to Another Watch List
DT mentioned for Outland Trophy
August 27, 2001

BLACKSBURG - The Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) has announced its top candidates to watch for the 2001 Outland Trophy, presented annually to the top interior lineman in college football. The BIG EAST Conference placed three players on the list, including Virginia Tech's David Pugh.

The winner of the 2001 Outland Trophy will be announced Dec. 6 on the ESPN College Football Awards Show from Orlando, Fla. Three finalists will be selected by the FWAA All-America Committee in late November and will appear in Orlando at the television show.

The winner of the 2001 Outland Trophy will receive his trophy during a banquet on Jan. 10, 2002, in Omaha, Neb. Tackles, guards and centers are eligible for the Outland Trophy, which is named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman and halfback at Penn.

This is the second watch list the senior from Madison Heights, Va., has been listed on. He was put on the watch list for the Lombardi Award last week.

Outland Trophy Watch List
Larry Triplett, Sr., NT, Washington
Chris Gibson, Sr., C, Oregon State
Scott Peters, Jr., C, Arizona State
Wendell Bryant, Sr., DT, Wisconsin
Tyson Walter, Sr., OT, Ohio State
Mike Williams, Sr., OT, Texas
Toniu Fonoti, Jr., OG, Nebraska
Andre Goode, Sr., OG, Colorado
Seth McKinney, Sr., C, Texas A&M
Frank Romero, Sr., OT, Oklahoma
Joaquin Gonzalez, Sr., OT, Miami
Bryant McKennie, Sr., OT, Miami
David Pugh, Sr., DT, Virginia Tech
John Henderson, Sr., DT, Tennessee
Mike Pearson, Jr., OT, Florida
Terrence Metcalf, Sr., OT, Mississippi
Jon Stinchcomb, Jr., OT, Georgia
Kendall Simmons, Sr., OT, Auburn
Konrad Dean, Sr., OT, Akron
Steve Sciullo, Jr., OT, Marshall
Brett Williams, Jr., OT, Florida State
Kyle Young, Sr., C, Clemson
Doug Kaufusi, Sr, OT, Utah
Ben Achibald, Jr., OT, BYU
Alan Harper, Sr., DT, Fresno State
Vince Manuwai, Jr., OG, Hawaii