Hall, Whitaker on Thorpe Watch List
Noel one of 14 on Unitas list
August 28, 2002

BLACKSBURG - Virginia Tech cornerbacks Ronyell Whitaker and DeAngelo Hall were two of 36 players named to the "watch list" for the Jim Thorpe Award, presented annually to America's best college defensive back.

The "watch list" is derived through a point system based on the All-America teams and "honorable mentions" listed in seven preseason football magazines. The list is not considered final, as the committee may add or delete names as the season progresses.

Ten semifinalists will be announced the first week in November and then the three finalists will be announced the Monday before Thanksgiving. All three finalists will be invited to ESPN's College Football Awards Show, telecast Dec. 12 from Disney World in Orlando, Fla.

Senior quarterback Grant Noel has also been honored as he was named a candidate for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award. The Golden Arm Educational Foundation named 14 senior quarterbacks Wednesday who are up for the award.

Included in the list are South Florida's Marquel Blackwell, Wisconsin's Brooks Bollinger, Miami's Ken Dorsey, Washington State's Jason Gessar, Texas Tech's Cliff Kingsbury, Marshall's Byron Leftwich, Noel, South Carolina's Corey Jenkins, USC's Carson Palmer, Louisville's Dave Ragone, Boston College's Brian St. Pierre, Texas' Chris Simms, UNLV's Jason Thomas and Iowa State's Seneca Wallace.

Additional candidates could be added at a later date if their performance dictates such inclusion.

All candidates must be completing their college eligibility this season to be eligible for The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award. Candidates are judged upon citizenship, scholastic achievement, leadership qualities and athletic accomplishments.