Burns Named to Ray Guy Watch List
Award goes to nation's top collegiate punter
August 28, 2003

AUGUSTA, Ga. - The Greater Augusta Sports Council announced the following 32 college football punters who have been named to the 2003 Ray Guy Award watch list as potential candidates for the top collegiate punter of the year. Virginia Tech's Vinnie Burns was one of the punters on the list. The junior from New Orleans was one of 10 semi-finalists for the award a year ago.

The Ray Guy Award will be presented to the nation's best collegiate punter as determined by a national selection committee made up of sports writers, college football coaches and sports information directors, former punters and members designated by the Greater Augusta Sports Council. Among the statistics to be included in determining the Ray Guy Award winner are total yardage, number of times a punt is downed or kicked out of bounds inside of the opponent's 20-yard line, net average, average return yardage and percentage not returned The winner will display leadership and self-discipline, and will have a positive impact on the team's success.

The Ray Guy Award watch list will be narrowed to ten semi-finalists who will be announced in early November. The national voting body will then vote for the three finalists and the winner who will be announced in late November. On Dec. 11, 2003 the three finalists will travel to Orlando, Fla., for the Home Depot College Football Awards Show, with the winner being announced and presented with the award live on ESPN. Punters are eligible to join the watch list at any time prior to the announcement of the ten semi-finalists.

Further, the Ray Guy Award winner will be invited to Augusta, Ga., for an exciting two-day celebration, including the Greater Augusta Sports Awards Gala, the Ray Guy Kicking & Punting Academy, and community appearances.

During his All-American collegiate football tenure at Southern Mississippi and his legendary career as a Pro Bowl punter for the NFL's Oakland Raiders, Ray Guy, a native of Thomson, Georgia was unsurpassed in his ability to impact the outcome of games with incredible hang time and ball control. Since his retirement, Ray Guy has sought to bring heightened awareness and recognition to the punter position at all levels, and to spotlight the contributions and talents that these young athletes bring to the playing field.

2003 Ray Guy Award Watch List
Curtis Ansel, Kansas, Senior
Grant Autrey, Louisiana-Lafayette, Senior
Bryce Benekos, Texas-El Paso, Junior
Vinnie Burns, Virginia Tech, Junior
Adam Coles, Connecticut, Senior
Jared Cook, Mississippi State, Junior
Luke Donovan, Wyoming, Senior
Ryan Dougherty, East Carolina, Sophomore
Ryan Downes, Idaho, Senior
Adam Finley, Michigan, Senior
Brock Harvey, Missouri, Senior
Austin Herbert, North Carolina State, Senior
Brian Huffman, Northwestern, Senior
Todd James, West Virginia, Senior
Derek Jones, Nevada, Senior
Donnie Jones, Louisiana State, Senior
Brad Kadlubar, North Texas, Junior
Kyle Larson, Nebraska, Senior
Andy Lee, Pittsburgh, Senior
Tom Malone, Southern California, Sophomore
Jimmy McClary, Houston, Senior
Tim Parker, Arizona State, Senior
Matt Payne, Brigham Young, Senior
Ryan Plackemeier, Wake Forest, Sophomore
Adam Podlesh, Maryland, Sophomore
Cody Ridgeway, Mississippi, Junior
Cody Scates, Texas A&M, Senior
Nicholas Setta, Notre Dame, Senior
John Skaggs, Navy, Senior
Brent Slaton, Purdue, Senior
Mike Wafzig, Miami (Ohio),Junior
Tony Yelk, Iowa State, Senior