2004 Ray Guy Award Watch List Announced
Burns once again up for honor
September 9, 2004

AUGUSTA, Ga. - The Greater Augusta Sports Council announced Thursday the 36 college football punters who have been named to the 2004 Ray Guy Award watch list as potential candidates for the top collegiate punter of the year. Vinnie Burns, a senior from New Orleans, has once again been named to the list.

The Ray Guy Award will be presented to the nation's best collegiate punter as determined by a national selection committee made up of sports writers, college football coaches and sports information directors, former punters and members designated by the Greater Augusta Sports Council. Among the statistics to be included in determining the Ray Guy Award winner are total yardage, number of times a punt is downed or kicked out of bounds inside of the opponent's 20-yard line, net average, average return yardage and percentage not returned. The winner will display leadership and self-discipline, and will have a positive impact on the team's success.

The Ray Guy Award watch list will be narrowed to 10 semifinalists who will be announced in early November. The national voting body will then vote for the three finalists who will be announced in late November. On Dec. 9, the three finalists will travel to Orlando, Fla., for the Home Depot College Football Awards Show, with the winner being announced and presented with the award live on ESPN. Punters are eligible to join the watch list at any time prior to the announcement of the 10 semifinalists.

Further, the Ray Guy Award winner will be invited to Augusta, Ga., for an exciting two-day celebration, including the Greater Augusta Sports Awards Gala, the Ray Guy Kicking & Punting Academy, and community appearances.

Burns, a two-time semifinalist for the award, averaged 45.8 yards on five punts in the opener against Southern California.
2004 Ray Guy Award Watch List
Adam Anderson, Western Michigan Jeff Babcock, Colorado State Kyle Basler, Washington State Danny Baugher, Arizona Chris Beckman, Tulane Bryce Benekos, Texas-El Paso David Bradley, Iowa John Braziel, Texas Christian Vinnie Burns, Virginia Tech Brendan Carney, Syracuse Dustin Colquitt, Tennessee Gary Cook, UNLV Jared Cook, Mississippi State Ryan Dougherty, East Carolina Gordon Ely-Kelso, Georgia Cole Farden, Oklahoma State Adam Finley, Michigan Bo Freeland, Alabama Luke Johnson, Southern Mississippi Brad Kadlubar, North Texas Chris Kluwe, UCLA Tom Malone, Southern California Ryan Mentzel, Southern Methodist Thomas Olmstead, Troy State Matt Payne, Brigham Young Ryan Plackemeier, Wake Forest Adam Podlesh, Maryland Alex Reyes, Texas Tech Cody Ridgeway, Mississippi Daniel Sepulveda, Baylor Jacob Skinner, Arkansas Joel Stelly, Louisiana-Monroe Kyle Stringer, Boise State Anthony Thornton, Kentucky John Torp, Colorado David Wooldridge, North Carolina