Burns Added to Ray Guy Award Watch List
    Additions Bring Watch List Total to a Record 46 Nominees
    October 18, 2002

    AUGUSTA, Ga. - The Greater Augusta Sports Council announced Friday that nine punters have been added to the Ray Guy Award watch list for 2002, bringing the total number of nominees to 46, up by 15 from 2001. Curtis Ansel (University of Kansas), Vinnie Burns (Virginia Tech), Tyeler Dean (University of South Carolina), Ryan Downes (University of Idaho), Adam Finley (University of Michigan), Andy Lee (University of Pittsburgh), Tim Parker (Arizona State University), Cody Ridgeway (University of Mississippi) and Mike Scifres (Western Illinois University) are all strong contenders for this year's award.

    During the last week of October, the Ray Guy Award committee will narrow the watch list to the top ten candidates. Subsequently, in late November a national voting committee will select the three finalists for the second annual Ray Guy Award.

    On Dec.12, the Greater Augusta Sports Council will present the 2002 Ray Guy Award on live television to one of three finalists at the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show from Orlando, Fla.

    The Ray Guy Award national voting members include sports writers, college football coaches, former punters, and members designated by the Greater Augusta Sports Council.

    Burns, a redshirt sophomore from New Orleans, is averaging 42.2 yards per punt this year with 14 kicks being downed inside the 20-yard line.

    2002 Ray Guy Award Watch List
    Curtis AnselUniversity of Kansas
    Joey BiasattiTexas Christian University
    Robert BillingsMiddle Tennessee State University
    Richie ButlerUniversity of Arkansas
    Vinnie BurnsVirginia Tech
    Freddie CapshawUniversity of Miami
    Adam ColesUniversity of Connecticut
    Dustin ColquittUniversity of Tennessee
    Tyeler DeanUniversity of South Carolina
    Luke DonovanUniversity of Wyoming
    Ryan DownesUniversity of Idaho
    Damon DuvalAuburn University
    Dan DykeGeorgia Tech
    Jimmy ErwinNorthern Illinois University
    Nate FikseUniversity of California √ Los Angeles
    Adam FinleyUniversity of Michigan
    Pat FlemingBowling Green State University
    Tyler FredricksonUniversity of California - Berkeley
    Jared FritzKent State University
    James GaitherUniversity of Memphis
    Clinton GreathouseTexas Tech
    Andy GroomOhio State University
    Mark HaulmanUniversity of Southern Mississippi
    Curtis HeadMarshall University
    Joey HildboldUniversity of Notre Dame
    Joey HuberColorado State University
    Donnie JonesLouisiana State University
    Jonathan KilgoUniversity of Georgia
    Kyle LarsonUniversity of Nebraska
    Andy LeeUniversity of Pittsburgh
    Mark MariscalUniversity of Colorado
    Mat McBriarUniversity of Hawaii
    Steve MullinsUtah State University
    Glenn PakulakUniversity of Kentucky
    Tim ParkerArizona State University
    Jarad PrestonEast Carolina University
    Cody RidgewayUniversity of Mississippi
    Cody ScatesTexas A&M University
    Mike ScifresWestern Illinois University
    Mike ShaferSyracuse University
    Brian SimnjanovskiSan Diego State University
    John SkaggsU.S. Naval Academy
    Ross StewartUniversity of Alabama-Birmingham
    Dustin UptonLouisiana Tech University
    Mike WafzigMiami (Ohio) University
    Tony YelkIowa State University
    Today's Live Events
    © 2016, hokiesports.com