Rotary Gridiron Classic Invitations Issued To Three Hokies
The Beat
October 4, 2001

Orlando, Fla. - Twenty-two football players from the BIG EAST Conference have been issued invitations to participate in the 4th annual Rotary Gridiron Classic presented by Tyco.

The all-star game features college seniors from around the United States against Team Florida, composed of athletes who either played college football in Florida or have ties to the Sunshine State. The game will be played on Saturday, January 26th at 2 p.m. (EST) at the Orlando Citrus Bowl. Pacific West Radio Sports will also carry the game nationally on its network.

BIG EAST players receiving invitations to play for Team USA include Virginia Tech's André Davis (WR), David Pugh (DT) and Ben Taylor; Boston College's Lenny Walls (CB) and Marc Colombo (OT); Syracuse players Dwight Feeney (DE) and Willie Ford (CB); and Pitt's Bryan Knight (DE).

Receiving invitations for Team Florida were West Virginia's Richard Bryant (DB) and Antonio Brown (WR); Syracuse's PJ Alexander (OG); and Sean Guthrie (DE) from Boston College. Nine University of Miami players garnered invitations, including Bryant McKinnie (OT), Joaquin Gonzalez (OT), Edward Reed (DB), Mike Rumph (DB), Najeh Davenport (RB), Martin Bibla (OG), Daryl Jones (WR), James Lewis (FS), Chris Campbell (LB), and Robert Williams (TE).

Classic alumni have included NFL Pro Bowl quarterback Daunte Culpepper of the Minnesota Vikings and 2000 NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year Mike Anderson of the Denver Broncos. Other participants have included rising NFL stars Ron Dixon (New York Giants), Darren Howard (New Orleans), Brad Meester (Jacksonville) and Erron Kinney (Tenessee).

Former NFL Head Coaches lead the Rotary Gridiron Classic teams, providing valuable insight and instruction to the players as they begin their professional careers. Their guidance plays a key part in the week of activities and practices, helping the players with the transition to the NFL. Past Rotary Gridiron Classic head coaches have included Lindy Infante (Green Bay/Indianapolis), Wayne Fontes (Detroit), Chuck Noll (Pittsburgh) and Buddy Ryan (Philadelphia/Arizona).