Moore Captures Second Major Award in Three Days
Defensive end takes home Lombardi Award
December 8, 1999

HOUSTON Virginia Tech defensive end Corey Moore was named the winner of the 30th annual Rotary Lombardi Award, the national honor presented to college football's top lineman. Moore bested a stellar field of finalists which included fellow Sugar Bowl bound lineman Corey Simon of Florida State and Penn State teammates LaVar Arrington and Courtney Brown.

The Lombardi Award marks the second major award for Moore in three days. He took home the Bronko Nagurski Award, given to the top defensive player, Monday night.

Sponsored by the Rotary Club of Houston, The Rotary Lombardi Award is presented annually in Houston. The Rotary Lombardi Award recipient is chosen by a panel of more than 300 national media members, college football coaches and past winners.

The winner is presented to the college lineman on offense or defense who, in addition to outstanding performance on the field, best exemplifies the characteristics and discipline of Vince Lombardi. Moore becomes the first Virginia Tech player to capture the Lombardi Award. Past winners include Grant Winstrom (1997), Orlando Pace (1995, 96), Warren Sapp (1994), Chris Spielman (1987) and Randy White (1974).