Jones Named Dudley Award Winner
Honor goes to state's top player
December 9, 2003

The Dudley Award
Year Player School
1990Shawn Moore **Virginia
1991Matt BlundinVirginia
1992Cary PerkinsEmory & Henry
1993Jim PyneVirginia Tech
1994Mike FrederickVirginia
1995Cornell BrownVirginia Tech
1996Tiki BarberVirginia
1997Anthony PoindexterVirginia
1998Marc MegnaRichmond
1999Corey MooreVirginia Tech
2000Lee Suggs **Virginia Tech
2001Billy McMullenVirginia
2002Lee SuggsVirginia Tech
2003Kevin JonesVirginia Tech
** - unanimous selection RICHMOND, Va. - Virginia Tech junior All-America tailback Kevin Jones was named the winner of the 14th Annual Dudley Award, given to the state's top collegiate football player, Tuesday night at the Downtown Club. The award is voted on by state media representatives and this marks the fourth time in the last five years a Tech player has won the award.

This award is the latest for the Doak Walker Award finalist. He has been named to all three first-team All-America squads that have been announced thus far. Those three are the Football Writers Association of America, the American Football Coaches Association and The Sporting News.

Jones, from Chester, Pa., has broken three school records this year with one game remaining. He rushed for 241 yards at Pittsburgh and has rushed for 1,494 yards this season. He also has eight 100-yard games this year. All three are new school marks. Jones announced last week that the Insight Bowl against Cal will be his final game as he will enter the NFL Draft.

Jones beat out University of Virginia quarterback Matt Schaub and Hampden-Sydney receiver Conrad Singh for the Dudley Award. Jones is the fifth different Virginia Tech football player to receive the honor. Jim Pyne (1993), Cornell Brown (1995), Corey Moore (1999) and Lee Suggs (2000 & 2002) also took home the hardware.

Shawn Moore of Virginia was the first winner in 1990. Moore and Suggs in 2000 were the only unanimous choices. Matt Blundin, Mike Frederick, Tiki Barber, Anthony Poindexter and Billy McMullen are the other Cavalier winners. Cary Perkins of Emory and Henry (1992) and Marc Megna of Richmond (1998) are the only winners not to come from one of the I-A schools.

The Dudley Award is named after former University of Virginia standout "Bullet" Bill Dudley. Each football-playing school in the Commonwealth is allowed to nominate one player.