Davis Named NCAA Top VIII Recipient
Senior to be honored for athletics, academic achievement, character and leadership
December 13, 2001

INDIANAPOLIS - André Davis has won yet another award for his academic and athletic excellence as announced by the NCAA Honors Committee on Thursday. The Committee has named the recipients of the NCAA Today's Top VIII Awards. The Today's Top VIII Award winners are a group of distinguished student-athletes from the 2001 calendar year who will be recognized at the 37th annual NCAA Honors Dinner, Jan. 13, in Indianapolis, for athletics, academic achievement, character and leadership.

This year's selections include the 2001 NCAA Woman of the Year; the 2001 Daktronics Division II Basketball Player of the Year; one of the nation's top collegiate punt returners and receivers; a 28-time All-American; a three-time NCAA champion who is also vice-president of her school's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee; a two-time American Volleyball Coaches Association first-team all-American; a golfer who is only one of four golfers ever to be named a four-time, first-team all-American; and the 2001 Women's Naismith College Player of the Year who helped lead her team to the NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Championship title.

In addition to their athletics accomplishments, the NCAA Today's Top VIII recipients have earned numerous academic honors, have volunteered countless hours to community projects and have served as role models for their academic institutions and to their peers.

This year's selections are Kimberly Black, a swimmer from the University of Georgia; Emily Bloss, a basketball and outdoor track and field student-athlete from Emporia State University; Davis, who has excelled as a football player and indoor and outdoor track and field student-athlete Virginia Tech; Misty Hyman, a swimmer from Stanford University; Leah Juno, an indoor and outdoor track and field and cross country student-athlete from the University of Wisconsin, Stevens Point; Nancy Metcalf, a volleyball player from the University of Nebraska, Lincoln; Bryce Molder, a golfer from Georgia Institute of Technology; and Ruth Riley, a basketball player from the University of Notre Dame.

Recognition for the group at the Honors Dinner is in conjunction with the NCAA Convention in Indianapolis. CBS Sports broadcaster Clark Kellogg will serve as master of ceremonies for the event. Kellogg, a graduate of Ohio State University, was a standout basketball player at his alma mater and the 1982 No. 1 draft pick of the NBA's Indiana Pacers.

The Today's Top VIII honorees are selected by the NCAA Honors Committee comprised of eight athletics administrators at member institutions, conferences and nationally distinguished citizens who are former student-athletes. The members of the NCAA Honors Committee are: Harry Carson, president, Harry Carson, Inc.; Eugene F. Corrigan, commissioner emeritus, Atlantic Coast Conference; Joseph N. Crowley, regents' professor/president emeritus, University of Nevada; Clyde Doughty Jr., athletics director, New York Institute of Technology; Jack Ford, ABC news anchor/correspondent; Jo Ann Harper, senior associate athletics director, Dartmouth College; Karen L. Johnson, director of institutional research, Alfred University; and Valerie Richardson, assistant commissioner, West Coast Conference. Potential candidates are nominated by NCAA member institutions and selected by the committee, which is chaired by Richardson.