Suggs Makes History
Running back becomes first ever to win Dudley Award twice
December 16, 2002

RICHMOND, Va. - In the 13 years that the Dudley Award has been handed out, there have been some great players win the award. Monday night, in one of the closest votes to date, Virginia Tech running back Lee Suggs one-upped all of those great players and made history by becoming the first player to win the award twice. The award, given to the state's top college player, was announced at The Downtown Club, the sponsor of the award.

Heading into this year's bowl game, Suggs has rushed for 1,255 yards and 20 touchdowns. He also has two touchdown receptions. He has scored a touchdown in 26 consecutive games in which he has played, setting a new NCAA Division I-A record. He has also scored in all 13 games this year, which is a new NCAA record for games scoring a touchdown in a season. He breaks Randy Moss' record of 12 games scoring a TD in 1997.

The fact that Suggs has posted these numbers is even more impressive considering he is returning from a torn ACL in his left knee, which he suffered in Tech's opening game last season. The senior from Roanoke is bigger, faster and stronger and has set numerous school, conference and NCAA records in his career.

For his career, Suggs has scored 54 total touchdowns and 51 rushing touchdowns, both school and BIG EAST records. He is second on Tech's all-time scoring list with 324 points and can move up to second on the BIG EAST's scoring list with two touchdowns against Air Force in the Diamond Walnut San Francisco Bowl. He also is fourth on Tech's all-time rushing list with 2,697 career yards.

Suggs beat out Virginia quarterback Matt Schaub, the ACC Player of the Year, and William & Mary senior quarterback David Corley for the Dudley Award. Suggs is the fourth different Virginia Tech football player to receive the honor. Jim Pyne (1993), Cornell Brown (1995), Corey Moore (1999) also took home the hardware. Suggs won the award in 2000 following an All-America season in which he led the nation in scoring.

Shawn Moore of Virginia was the first winner in 1990. Moore and Suggs in 2000 were the only unanimous choices. Matt Blundin, Mike Frederick, Tiki Barber, Anthony Pointdexter and Billy McMullen are the other Cavalier winners.

Cary Perkins of Emory and Henry (1992) and Marc Megna of Richmond (1998) are the only winners not to come from one of the I-A schools.

Suggs won despite receiving one fewer first-place vote than runner-up Matt Schaub of Virginia.

The Dudley Award is named after former Virginia standout "Bullet" Bill Dudley. Each football-playing school in the Commonwealth is allowed to nominate one player.