Virginia Tech Accepts San Francisco Bowl Bid
Hokies will face Air Force on Dec. 31
December 8, 2002

Bowl Info Diamond Walnut
San Francisco Bowl
Bowl Info: Hotels, Events, Ticket Info and more
Where: San Francisco, Calif.
Stadium: Pacific Bell Park (37,000)
Date: Dec. 31, 2002
Time: 7:30 PT/10:30 ET
Radio: Virginia Tech/ISP Sports Network - Listen
TV: ESPN2
Series Record: Air Force leads 1-0-0
Last Meeting: Dec. 15, 1984 - L, 7-23
 
BLACKSBURG - The Virginia Tech athletics department announced Sunday that it has accepted a bid to play in the inaugural Diamond Walnut San Francisco Bowl on Dec. 31 in San Francisco, Calif. The Hokies will face the United States Air Force Academy at Pacific Bell Park. Kick off is set for 10:36 p.m. (EST), 7:36 p.m. (PST) and the game will be shown on ESPN2.

Tech (9-4) will play an 8-4 Air Force team from the Mountain West Conference. Tech and the Falcons played in 1984, with the Air Force Academy coming away with a 23-7 win in the Independence Bowl.

"I'm excited about going to my fifth straight bowl and the program's 10th straight," said senior Willie Pile. "San Francisco is going to have a two excellent teams in Virginia Tech and Air Force coming out there. We're fortunate to be playing such a great opponent that has had such a good season. We are looking forward to playing in a great bowl in a great city."

A teleconference has been scheduled for 4:30 p.m., Sunday, where Tech will officially accept the bid. More information will be available after the teleconference.

Virginia Tech and general Diamond Walnut San Francisco Bowl information is available on this site.