Randall Named Dudley Award Winner
Honor goes to state's top player
This award is the latest for the first-team All-ACC selection, who is one of the frontrunners for conference player of the year honors after leading the Hokies to a 10-2, 7-1 mark this year, claiming the ACC title.

Randall, from Williamsburg, Va., has broken three school records this year with one game remaining. His 37 consecutive starts at quarterback are a new school record. He also set the record for career total offense and passing yards. The 2005 Nokia Sugar Bowl against No. 3 Auburn will be the last collegiate game for the senior.

Randall beat out University of Virginia running back Alvin Pearman and quarterback Lang Campbell of William & Mary. Randall is the sixth different football player from Tech to receive the honor. Jim Pyne (1993), Cornell Brown (1995), Corey Moore (1999), Lee Suggs (2000 & 2002) and Kevin Jones (2003) also took home the award.

Shawn Moore of Virginia was the first winner in 1990. Moore and Suggs in 2000 were the only unanimous choices. Matt Blundin, Mike Frederick, Tiki Barber, Anthony Poindexter and Billy McMullen are the other Cavalier winners. Cary Perkins of Emory and Henry (1992) and Marc Megna of Richmond (1998) are the only winners not to come from one of the I-A schools.

The Dudley Award is named after former University of Virginia standout "Bullet" Bill Dudley. Each football-playing school in the Commonwealth is allowed to nominate one player.