Virginia Tech Releases Future Non-Conference Football Schedules
Opponents, dates & locations through 2011 announced
June 23, 2005

BLACKSBURG - The Virginia Tech Athletics Department released Thursday its non-conference football schedules through 2011, highlighted by the announcement of an eight-game series with East Carolina University.

In each of the six years, four non-conference games will be played. Besides East Carolina every season, the following teams will be on Tech's schedule: Appalachian State (2011, Blacksburg), Bowling Green (2008, Blacksburg), Central Michigan (2010, Blacksburg), Cincinnati (2006, Blacksburg; 2009, Cincinnati, Ohio), Furman (2008, Blacksburg), Kent State (2006, Blacksburg), LSU (2007, Baton Rouge, La.), Marshall (2009, Blacksburg; 2011, Huntington, W.Va.), Ohio University (2006, Athens, Ohio; 2007, Blacksburg), Syracuse (2010, Syracuse, N.Y.; 2011, Blacksburg), Western Michigan (2010, Blacksburg), William & Mary (2007, Blacksburg) and Wisconsin (2008, Madison, Wis.; 2009, Blacksburg).

The Hokies and Pirates will play each year from 2006-2013, including four games at Blacksburg, three at ECU and a neutral contest at Bank of America Stadium in Charlotte, N.C., in 2007. The Pirates and Hokies will renew a regional rivalry which peaked with seven meetings during a nine-year span from 1990 to 1998. Virginia Tech leads the overall series, 8-4, last playing in 2000, a 45-28 win for the Hokies at Dowdy-Ficklen Stadium.

Last November, Virginia Tech, in conjunction with the Atlantic Coast Conference office, released its conference opponents and sites through 2015. Exact dates on those games will be available at future dates.

Sept. 2Kent StateBlacksburg
Sept. 9at OhioAthens, Ohio
Sept. 16East CarolinaBlacksburg
Sept. 23CincinnatiBlacksburg
Sept. 1vs East CarolinaCharlotte, N.C.
Sept. 8at LSUBaton Rouge, La.
Sept. 15OhioBlacksburg
Sept. 22William & MaryBlacksburg
Aug. 30Bowling GreenBlacksburg
Sept. 6FurmanBlacksburg
Sept. 13East CarolinaBlacksburg
Sept. 20at WisconsinMadison, Wis.
Sept. 5at CincinnatiCincinnati, Ohio
Sept. 12MarshallBlacksburg
Sept. 19WisconsinBlacksburg
Sept. 26at East CarolinaGreenville, N.C.
Sept. 4Central MichiganBlacksburg
Sept. 11Western MichiganBlacksburg
Sept. 18East CarolinaBlacksburg
Sept. 25at SyracuseSyracuse, N.Y.
Sept. 3Appalachian StBlacksburg
Sept. 10at East CarolinaGreenville, N.C.
Sept. 17SyracuseBlacksburg
Sept. 24at MarshallHuntington, W.Va.