Williams Named to Thorpe Preseason Watch List
Award goes to nation's top defensive back
June 29, 2005

OKLAHOMA CITY - The leading candidates for the 2005 Jim Thorpe Award have been announced in a preseason "watch list" released by the Jim Thorpe Association. Virginia Tech senior cornerback Jimmy Williams (Hampton, Va.) has made the initial list of 46 players. Williams, who is a Playboy Preseason All-American, was also named to the Bronko Nagurski Award Watch List, given to the nation's top defensive player by the FWAA.

The Thorpe Award, presented annually to the nation's best college defensive back, is one of college football's most sought after and prestigious awards. It is named after history's greatest all-around athlete, a man who excelled as a running back, passer and kicker on offense, but also was an awesome defensive back. Recognized in the Pro Football Hall of Fame simply as "The Legend", Thorpe also played professional baseball and won Olympic gold medals in the decathlon and pentathlon.

The watch list will be narrowed to 10 semifinalists the first Monday in November and then to three finalists the Monday before Thanksgiving. The winner will be announced on ESPN's College Football Awards Show, telecast from Disney World on Dec. 8. The official presentation of the award will be in Oklahoma City on Feb. 7.

The watch list is derived through a point system based on All-American teams and honorable mentions published in at least six preseason football magazines. A candidate must be listed as a third-team All-American in at least one publication or as a fourth team or honorable mention in at least three of these publications. This list is not final. Players not on the list who have exceptional seasons may be added at a later date.

Muhammad Abdullah, Sr., Kentucky, S
Jahmile Addae, Sr., West Virginia, S
Jason Allen, Sr., Tennessee, S
Jaxson Appel, Sr., Texas A&M, S
Darnell Bing, Jr., USC, S
Will Blackmon, Sr., Boston College, CB
Greg Blue, Sr., Georgia, S
Darrell Brooks, Sr., Arizona, S
Daniel Bullocks, Sr., Nebraska, S
Antoine Cason, So., Arizona, CB
Antonio Cromartie, Jr., Florida State, CB
John Eubanks, Sr., Southern Miss, CB
Gabriel Fulbright, Sr., New Mexico, CB
Charles Gordon, Jr., Kansas, CB
Cedric Griffin, Sr., Texas, CB
Roman Harper, Sr., Alabama, S
Michael Huff, Sr., Texas, CB
Darrell Hunter, Sr., Miami (Ohio), CB
Kelly Jennings, Sr., Miami (Fla), CB
LaRon Landry, Jr., LSU, S
Maurice Lane, Sr., Baylor, S
Mike Lorello, Sr., West Virginia, S
Donnie McClesky, Sr., California, S
Jarrad Page, Sr., UCLA, S
Charlie Peprah, Sr., Alabama, S
Bernard Pollard, Jr., Purdue, S
Nate Salley, Sr., Ohio State, S
Ko Simpson, So., South Carolina, S
Anthony Smith, Sr., Syracuse, S
Wesley Smith, Sr., Memphis, S
Greg Threat, Sr., Miami (Fla), S
Pat Watkins, Sr., Florida State, S
Eric Weddle, Jr., Utah, S
Ashton Youboty, Jr., Ohio State, CB
Jimmy Williams, Sr., Virginia Tech, CB
Alan Zemaitis, Sr., Penn St., CB