Williams Named to Walter Camp Football Foundation 2005 Player of the Year Watch List
Senior one of 40 on the list
August 17, 2005

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - The Walter Camp Football Foundation has announced the names of 40 "players to watch" for its prestigious Player of the Year award, the nation's fourth-oldest individual college football accolade. Virginia Tech senior cornerback Jimmy Williams has made the list, along with several others this preseason. The Hampton, Va., native is a Playboy Preseason All-American, was also named to the Bronko Nagurski Award Watch List, given to the nation's top defensive player by the FWAA, and the Jim Thorpe Award Watch List, given to the nation's top defensive back,

The watch list will be narrowed to 10 semifinalists in early November. The 2005 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 119 Division I-A head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced on the ESPN/Home Depot College Football Awards Show in December. The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation's annual national awards banquet on Feb. 11, 2006 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

Last year's recipient was USC quarterback Matt Leinart who led the Trojans to their second consecutive national title. Leinart has returned for his senior year and is once again on the Walter Camp "Watch List."

Walter Camp, "The Father of American football," first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp - a former Yale University athlete and football coach - is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to 11 men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation - a New Haven-based all-volunteer group - was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.

2005 Walter Camp Player of the Year "Watch List"
Reggie Bush, RB/KR, Junior, USC
Steve Breaston, UTY, Junior, Michigan
Ahmad Brooks, LB, Senior, Virginia
Ashlan Davis, WR/KR, Senior, Tulsa
Bruce Gradkowski, QB, Senior, Toledo
Ted Ginn Jr., WR, Sophomore, Ohio State
Charles Gordon, DB, Junior, Kansas
Chad Greenway, LB, Senior, Iowa
Andre Hall, RB, Senior, South Florida
Michael Hart, RB, Sophomore, Michigan
Mike Hass, WR, Senior, Oregon State
A.J. Hawk, LB, Senior, Ohio State
Devin Hester, DB/KR, Junior, Miami (Fla.)
Spencer Havner, LB, Senior, UCLA
Santonio Holmes, WR, Junior, Ohio State
Omar Jacobs, QB, Junior, Bowling Green
Mathias Kiwanuka, DE, Senior, Boston College
Chris Leak, QB, Junior, Florida
Greg Lee, WR, Junior, Pittsburgh
Matt Leinart, QB, Senior, USC
Marcedes Lewis, TE, Senior, UCLA
Marshawn Lynch, RB, Sophomore, California
Laurence Maroney, RB, Junior, Minnesota
Reggie McNeal, QB, Senior, Texas A&M
DonTrell Moore, RB, Senior, New Mexico
Tyler Palko, QB, Junior, Pittsburgh
Adrian Peterson, RB, Sophomore, Oklahoma
Gerald Riggs, RB, Senior, Tennessee
Brad Smith, QB, Senior, Missouri
Drew Stanton, QB, Senior, Michigan State
Drew Tate, QB, Junior, Iowa
Jamario Thomas, RB, Sophomore, North Texas
Leon Washington, RB, Florida State
LenDale White, RB, Junior, USC
DeAngelo Williams, RB, Senior, Memphis
Jimmy Williams, DB, Senior, Virginia Tech
Mario Williams, DE, Senior, North Carolina State
Garrett Wolfe, RB, Junior, Northern Illinois
Vince Young, QB, Junior, Texas
Jared Zabransky, QB, Junior, Boise State