Vick Named to O'Brien Award Watch List
Award goes to nation's top collegiate quarterback
August 18, 2005

FORT WORTH, Texas - The Davey O'Brien Foundation announced Thursday the pre-season watch list for the 2005 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback AwardTM, presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback. Virginia Tech junior quarterback Marcus Vick is one of 33 on the initial list.

The O'Brien Award is the oldest and most prestigious award in the country for college quarterbacks and is named in honor of the late Davey O'Brien. O'Brien led the TCU Horned Frogs to the 1938 national championship and was the first player to win the Heisman, Walter Camp and Maxwell Awards in one season.

Semifinalists will be announced in early November as voted on by the O'Brien Selection Committee, a nationwide panel of sportswriters and commentators, as well as former O'Brien Award winners. The committee will then narrow the field to three finalists and then the winner. The winner of the 2005 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback AwardTM will be announced on the Home Depot College Football Awards Show at 7 p.m. (EST) on Thursday, Dec. 8, 2005 and will be honored Feb. 20, 2006, at the 29th annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in downtown Fort Worth. Air transportation is provided by American Airlines, the official airline of the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback AwardTM.

The Davey O'Brien Foundation was established in 1977 to present the O'Brien Memorial Trophy, recognizing annually the outstanding college football player in the five southwestern states of Texas, Louisiana, Arkansas, Oklahoma and New Mexico. In 1981, the award was redirected to be national in scope but limited to quarterback, the favorite position of the award's namesake, Davey O'Brien. The award carries with it a $10,000 grant to the scholarship program of the university in which the winner is enrolled. A high school scholarship program began in 1986, awarding annually a $20,000 college scholarship to an outstanding senior student-athlete in the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex. Since 1977 the Davey O'Brien Foundation has awarded over $248,000 to the various O'Brien winners' universities and more than $380,000 to deserving high school students.

The 33 candidates, in alphabetical order, are:
Erik Ainge, Tennessee

John Beck, BYU

Corey Bramlet, Wyoming

Brian Brohm, Louisville

Shaun Carney, Air Force

Kellen Clemens, Oregon

Brodie Croyle, Alabama

Jay Cutler, Vanderbilt

Bruce Gradkowski, Toledo

Tye Gunn, TCU

Darrell Hackney, UAB

Marques Hagans, Virginia

Chad Henne, Michigan

Justin Holland, Colorado State

Omar Jacobs, Bowling Green

Steven Jyles, Louisiana-Monroe

Kevin Kold, Houston

Chris Leak, Florida

Matt Leinart, USC

Clint Marks, Middle Tenn. St.

Reggie McNeal, Texas A&M

Tyler Palko, Pittsburgh

Jordan Palmer, UTEP

Paul Pinegar, Fresno State

Quinton Porter, Boston College

Jeff Rowe, Nevada

Brad Smith, Missouri

Drew Stanton, Michigan State

Drew Tate, Iowa

Marcus Vick, Virginia Tech

Charlie Whitehurst, Clemson

Vince Young, Texas

Jared Zabransky, Boise State