Schmitt Named Ray Guy Semifianlist
Top 10 announced for collegiate punting top honor
October 31, 2005

Augusta, Ga. - The Greater Augusta Sports Council announced today the top 10 semifinalists for the 2005 Ray Guy Award, which identifies the nation's top collegiate punter. A record 58 punters were nominated for the honor. Each of the punters on the list was evaluated on his overall statistics and contribution to the team. Particular emphasis was placed on the following categories: net average, percentage of total punts inside the 20-yard line, average return yardage, and percentage not returned.

Virginia Tech's Nic Scmitt was one of the 10 who made the cut. Schmitt, in his first year as Tech's punter, is averaging 42.6 yards per punt with 10 downed inside the 20 and a long of 65 yards.

The award is named for Thomson, Ga., resident Ray Guy, a 2004 College Football Hall of Fame Inductee. Guy, who played with the Oakland Raiders from 1973 to 1986, is, perhaps, the first punter who could change the make -up of a game with his kicking style. In fact, "hang-time" was added to football vernacular because of Ray Guy, who was known for soaring kicks and deadly precision. His namesake award, created by the Greater Augusta Sports Council, was begun in 2000.

Guy said about this year's candidates, "It is obvious this outstanding group of punters have focused on team success instead of individual accomplishments. Everyone on our top 10 list have performed unselfishly, qualifying each to be worthy of being named the nation's top punter."

A national voting body of Division 1-A coaches and sports information directors, national media, and former punters will decide the three award finalists, and ultimately the winner of this year's award. The winner will be announced live on ESPN during the Home Depot College Football Awards show, Thursday, Dec. 8, 2005. The winner will again be honored at the Greater Augusta Sports Award Gala in early 2006.

2005 Ray Guy Award Semi-Finalists
Name              School                        Class
Danny Baugher     Arizona                       Senior
Dave Brytus       Purdue                        Sophomore
Gordon Ely-Kelso  Georgia                       Junior
Chris Hall        Florida State University      Senior
Sam Koch          Nebraska                      Senior
Ryan Plackemeier  Wake Forest                   Senior
Nic Schmitt       Virginia Tech                 Junior
John Torp         Colorado                      Senior
Kyle Tucker       Kansas                        Sophomore
Eric Wilbur       Florida                       Junior