Williams Named Nagurski Finalist
Senior one of five up for award
November 17, 2005

CHARLOTTE, N.C. - The Charlotte Touchdown Club announced Thursday the five finalists for the 2005 Bronko Nagurski Trophy. The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is awarded each year to the nation's most outstanding Division I defensive football player.

The 2005 Bronko Nagurski Trophy finalists are:

Tamba Hali, DE, Penn State
Elvis Dumervil, DE, Louisville
Haloti Ngata, DT, Oregon
DeMeco Ryans, LB, Alabama
Jimmy Williams, DB, Virginia Tech

Each finalist will be honored at the Bronko Nagurski Awards Banquet on Dec. 5, at the Westin in Charlotte. The keynote address will be given by University of Notre Dame Head Football Coach Charlie Weis and FSN South's Bob Fiscella is slated as Master of Ceremonies.

Williams, a senior cornerback from Hampton, Va., is fifth on the team in tackles with 33, including two for loss and a sack. The Jim Thorpe Award semifinalist also has four break ups, two quarterback hurries and an interception.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is given in honor of the late Bronko Nagurski. Widely regarded as one of the greatest college football players of all time, Nagurski was named the 1929 All-America Defensive Tackle and led the Chicago Bears to three NFL Championships.

The Charlotte Touchdown Club is a 501(c) 3 non-profit organization founded in 1991 for the purpose of promoting high school, collegiate, and professional football in the Charlotte, N.C., region. The Club's activities and services focus community attention on the outstanding Citizenship, Scholarship, Sportsmanship, and Leadership of area athletes and coaches.