Williams Named Thorpe Finalist
Senior one of three up for award
November 22, 2005

OKLAHOMA CITY - The Jim Thorpe Association of Oklahoma City announced Tuesday the three finalists for the 2005 Jim Thorpe Award, given to the nation's top collegiate defensive back.

The 2005 Jim Thorpe Award finalists are:

Tye Hill, Clemson
Michael Huff, Texas
Jimmy Williams, DB, Virginia Tech

Williams, a senior cornerback from Hampton, Va., is fifth on the team in tackles with 34, including two for loss and a sack. The Bronko Nagurski Award finalist also has four break ups, three quarterback hurries and an interception. The Nagurski Award goes to the nation's top defensive player and Williams is the only player to be named a finalist for both.

Hill has 49 tackles, three interceptions and six pass breakups on the season.

Huff has 80 tackles, one interception and 12 pass break ups on the season.

The three finalists will be flown to Florida and the winner will be announced on ESPN's College Football Awards Show, telecast live from Disney World in Orlando, Fla., on Dec. 8, 2005.

The Jim Thorpe Association first presented the award in 1986 to Thomas Everett of Baylor. The 1989 winner, Marc Carrier of USC, will present the Thorpe trophy on this year's ESPN show. The official presentation of the award will be at a banquet in Oklahoma City on Feb. 7, 2006. Winners are selected for performance on the field, athletic ability and character. Last year's winner was Auburn University standout Carlos Rogers, who is now playing for the Washington Redskins.