Anderson a Finalist for ARA National College Football Sportsmanship Award
Award given to outstanding role models identified throughout Division I
November 30, 2005

GLENVIEW, Ill. - The Awards and Recognition Association today announced 10 finalists for the inaugural ARA Sportsmanship Award - a new national award for NCAA Division I College Football.

"We knew we would find outstanding role models throughout college football, and we were not disappointed. Our selection committee will have a difficult time selecting one person to win the first ARA Sportsmanship Award," said ARA President Charles Miles.

Former Brigham Young University Head Football Coach LaVell Edwards chairs the selection committee. The 2005 ARA Sportsmanship Award recipient will be announced in mid-December.

The finalists for the 2005 ARA Sportsmanship Award are:

James Anderson, Virginia Tech
Antoine Huffman, University of Kentucky
Luke Johnson, University of Southern Mississippi
Matthew Leinart, University of Southern California
Grayling Love, Arizona State University
Ryan Neill, Rutgers University
Ben Obomanu, Auburn University
Devarick Scandrett, Middle Tennessee State University
Scott Smith, University of California, Berkeley
DeAngelo Williams, University of Memphis

"We are particularly pleased that these fine examples of good character and athletic excellence come from different parts of the country. Good sportsmanship is demonstrated on and off the field at all levels of amateur and professional athletics, and we expected to see strong candidates from throughout the United States," Miles said.