Williams Named Thorpe Semifinalist
Senior CB one of 12 to make the cut for nation's top defensive back
November 8, 2005

The Jim Thorpe Award Screening Committee in Oklahoma City has announced 12 semifinalists for the award given annually to the nation's best college defensive back. Virginia Tech's Jimmy Williams is one of the 12 to make the cut.

This list will be narrowed on Nov. 21, 2005, to three finalists. The winner will be announced on ESPN's College Football Awards Show, telecast live from Disney World in Orlando, Fla., on Dec. 8, 2005.

The Jim Thorpe Association first presented the award in 1986 to Thomas Everett of Baylor. The 1989 winner, Marc Carrier of USC, will present the Thorpe trophy on this year's ESPN show. The official presentation of the award will be at a banquet in Oklahoma City on Feb. 7, 2006. Winners are selected for performance on the field, athletic ability and character. Last year's winner was Auburn University standout Carlos Rogers, who is now playing for the Washington Redskins.

The 2005 semi-finalists are:
Darnell Bing, Jr., USC

Greg Blue, Sr., Georgia

Darrel Brooks, Sr., Arizona

Dion Byrum, Sr., Ohio

Charles Gordon, Jr., Kansas

Roman Harper, Sr., Alabama

Michael Huff, Sr., Texas

Tye Hill, Sr., Clemson

LaRon Landry, Jr., LSU

Brandon Merriweather, Jr., Miami (FL)

Jimmy Williams, Sr., Virginia Tech

Alan Zemaitis, Sr., Penn State