Hall named Dudley finalist
Award given to state's top player
November 30, 2006

BLACKSBURG - Junior linebacker Vince Hall of Virginia Tech, junior defensive end Chris Long of Virginia and senior linebacker Akeem Jordan of James Madison are finalists for the Dudley Award. Named after former Virginia star "Bullet" Bill Dudley, it goes to the player of the year at state Division I-A and I-AA schools.

Junior running back Ra'Shad Morgan of Virginia-Wise and junior defensive back Mark Snoddy of Washington and Lee are finalists for the Division II/III/NAIA award that goes to the player of the year in those divisions.

The awards will be presented Wednesday at a banquet at the Sheraton Richmond West hotel. The event starts at 6:30 p.m. with a social hour, followed by dinner at 7:30 and the awards presentation. Tickets are $40 and available by calling (804) 741-1144 or e-mailing dudleyaward@comcast.net.

The Richmond Times-Dispatch sponsors the awards.

Each football-playing school in the state is allowed to nominate one player for the awards. A panel of 15 sports writers and broadcasters throughout the state votes for three players in each division, with points awarded on a 5-3-1 basis. The top three become Dudley finalists, the top two become Division II/III/NAIA finalists. There is no second round of voting.

Hall made the all-ACC team and led Virginia Tech's defense to the No.1 spot nationally in overall defense. Jordan was the Atlantic 10's defensive player of the year. Long had five sacks and 12 tackles for loss as the Virginia defense improved from 60th nationally to 20th in total defense.

Snoddy is a two-time all-ODAC pick who had nine interceptions to help lead the Generals to their first Division III playoff appearance. Morgan, from Meadowbrook High, set 11 game and season records while rushing for 1,657 yards and 25 touchdowns in 2006.

A Virginia Tech player has won the award six times in the last seven years after Darryl Tapp won the award last year. Bryan Randall (2004), Kevin Jones (2003), Lee Suggs (2002, 2000), Corey Moore (1999), Cornell Brown (1995) and Jim Pyne (1993) are all former Hokies to receive the honor.