Hall wins Dudley Award
Junior linebacker becomes eighth different Hokie to win state's top honor
December 6, 2006

The Dudley Award
Year Player School
1990Shawn Moore **Virginia
1991Matt BlundinVirginia
1992Cary PerkinsEmory & Henry
1993Jim PyneVirginia Tech
1994Mike FrederickVirginia
1995Cornell BrownVirginia Tech
1996Tiki BarberVirginia
1997Anthony PoindexterVirginia
1998Marc MegnaRichmond
1999Corey MooreVirginia Tech
2000Lee Suggs **Virginia Tech
2001Billy McMullenVirginia
2002Lee SuggsVirginia Tech
2003Kevin JonesVirginia Tech
2004Bryan RandallVirginia Tech
2005Darryl TappVirginia Tech
2006Vince HallVirginia Tech
** - unanimous selection
RICHMOND, Va. - Virginia Tech junior linebacker Vince Hall was named the winner of the 2006 Dudley Award, given to the state's top Division I collegiate football player, Wednesday night at the Sheraton West Hotel. The award is voted on by state media representatives and marks the fifth straight time, and seventh in the last eight years, a Tech player has won the award.

Hall received 10-of-15 first-place votes and beat out runner-up Chris Long of Virginia and James Madison linebacker Akeem Jordan, who finished third, to win the award. Hall is the eighth different football player from Tech to receive the honor. Jim Pyne (1993), Cornell Brown (1995), Corey Moore (1999), Lee Suggs (2000 & 2002), Kevin Jones (2003), Bryan Randall (2004) and Darryl Tapp (2005) also took home the award.

Hall, from Western Branch High School in Chesapeake, Va., made the all-ACC first team and led Virginia Tech's defense to the No.1 spot nationally in overall defense. Jordan was the Atlantic 10's defensive player of the year. Long had five sacks and 12 tackles for loss as the Virginia defense improved from 60th nationally to 20th in total defense.

Shawn Moore of Virginia was the first winner in 1990. Moore and Suggs in 2000 were the only unanimous choices. Matt Blundin, Mike Frederick, Tiki Barber, Anthony Poindexter and Billy McMullen are the other Cavalier winners. Cary Perkins of Emory and Henry (1992) and Marc Megna of Richmond (1998) are the only winners not to come from one of the I-A schools.

The Dudley Award is named after former University of Virginia standout "Bullet" Bill Dudley and has been presented annually since 1990 to the player of the year at a state school. Each football-playing school in the Commonwealth is allowed to nominate one player. In 2004, a separate award was created for players at Division II and Division III schools. The Richmond Times-Dispatch sponsors the awards.