Adibi, Hall named to Nagurski Watch List
Honor given to nation's top defensive player
June 12, 2007

CHARLOTTE - Virginia Tech senior linebackers Xavier Adibi and Vince Hall have been named to the 2007 Bronko Nagurski Watch List, as announced Tuesday by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA).

The award, which is given to the best defensive player in college football, is sponsored by the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

The FWAA All-America Committee selects the Bronko Nagurski winner from the association's 11-man All-America defensive team in November. The watch list was developed by the FWAA All-America committee with the help of the schools and conferences.

The Charlotte Touchdown Club will hold the 2007 banquet on Monday, Dec. 3, at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte. Ohio State linebacker James Laurinaitis won the 2006 Bronko Nagurski Trophy.

For the seventh straight season, the FWAA will also select a Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week beginning with games on Sept. 1 through mid-November.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is awarded in memory of the legendary Nagurski, a former All-America lineman at Minnesota in 1927-29 and a star for professional football's Chicago Bears in the 1930s.

For a complete list of the 49 preseason candidates, go to: