Karlin nominated for Courage Award
October 4, 2007

DALLAS - Virginia Tech's Lester Karlin has been nominated for the FedEx Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award, to be announced at the end of the 2007 season. Karlin, who is in his 30th year as the Hokies' equipment manager, was among the first responders to the shootings last April on the Tech campus.

Karlin is a life member of the Blacksburg Volunteer Rescue Squad. On April 16, he quickly responded to calls of shootings at Norris Hall, where 30 people were killed. He helped set up triage units and helped care for and transported some of the wounded. His actions were essential in helping set up the scene before masses of rescue personnel arrived.

Karlin (left) with Cheryl and Frank Beamer at the April 16 Memorial Dedication.
Last summer, Karlin supervised the process of applying commemorative memorial patches on the jerseys of all 21 Virginia Tech athletic teams.

For the second straight year, the Football Writers Association of America and the FedEx Orange Bowl will announce a weekly nominee each Wednesday during the season. A blue-ribbon panel will determine the winner from all of the nominees. The winner of the FedEx Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award will be announced in December and be presented with the trophy.

The Courage Award was created by ESPN The Magazine's senior writer Gene Wojciechowski, also a FWAA member. A select group of writers from the FWAA vote on the winner each year. The requirements for nomination include displaying courage on or off the field, including overcoming an injury or physical handicap, preventing a disaster or living through hardship.

Previous winners of the FWAA's Courage Award are Clemson's Ray Ray McElrathbey (2006), the Tulane football team (2005), Memphis' Haracio Colen (2004), San Jose State's Neil Parry (2003) and Toledo's William Bratton (2002).