Dunlevy named Groza Award semifinalist
Senior one 20 to make the cut
November 6, 2007

The Palm Beach County Sports Institute and Sports Commission announced Tuesday the 20 semifinalists for the 2007 Lou Groza Collegiate Placekicker Award presented by the FedEx Orange Bowl. Virginia Tech senior Jud Dunlevy is one of six kickers from the ACC to make the cut.

2005 Groza winner Alexis Serna of Oregon State has kicked his way onto the ballot for the third season. 2006 semifinalists back for consideration again are Florida State's Gary Cismesia, Wisconsin's Taylor Mehlhaff, and Wake Forest's Sam Swank.

Through 10 weeks of the season, Ohio State's Ryan Pretorius leads the nation in kick scoring with 91 points. Jose Martinez of UTEP has the longest field goal among our semi-finalists, 57 yards. Boise State's Kyle Brotzman's 44 of 44 PAT's is best among our semi-finalists in that category.

And the 2007 Lou Groza Semifinalists are:
Connor Barth, North Carolina
Travis Bell, Georgia Tech
Michael Braunstein, Ohio University
Kyle Brotzman, Boise State
Gary Cismesia, Florida State
Jud Dunlevy, Virginia Tech
Matt Evensen, Oregon
Steven Hauschka, North Carolina State
Daniel Lincoln, Tennessee
Jose Martinez, UTEP
Pat McAfee, West Virginia
Taylor Mehlhaff, Wisconsin
Ryan Pretorius, Ohio State
Jason Reda, Illinois
Louie Sakoda, Utah
Alexis Serna, Oregon State
Austin Starr, Indiana
Sam Swank, Wake Forest
Swayze Waters, UAB
Thomas Weber, Arizona State

The Lou Groza Collegiate Placekicker Award recognizes the top place-kicker in NCAA Division I-A football. Voters for the award include Division I-A head coaches, sports writers and sportscasters, conference representatives, professional kickers, and previous Groza Award finalists.

The three finalists for the Lou Groza Award are announced on Monday, Nov. 19 and will be honored at the 16th Annual Lou Groza Collegiate Placekicker Award Banquet on Tuesday, Dec. 4 at the Palm Beach Gardens Marriott. The 2007 Lou Groza Collegiate Placekicker Award winner will be announced on Thursday, Dec. 6 during the ESPN Home Depot College Football Award Show in Orlando, Fla.

The award, now in its 16th year, is named for NFL Hall-of-Fame kicker Lou Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns. Groza won four NFL championships with Cleveland and was named NFL Player of the Year in 1954. Nicknamed "The Toe," Groza was one of the first people to truly make kicking an art form, and he helped usher in to football the idea that a player could be used exclusively for kicking.

For more information on the 20 semifinalists, visit http://www.lougrozaaward.com/Candidates/index.htm