Adibi named Bednarik semifinalist
Senior one of 15 to make the cut
November 7, 2007

ROSLYN, Pa. - Maxwell Football Club President Ron Jaworski, announced Wednesday the 2007 semifinalists for the 13th Chuck Bednarik Award for the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year. The list includes a field of fifteen candidates for these award as selected by the Maxwell Football Club Advisory Committee. Virginia Tech senior linebacker Xavier Adibi is one of the 15 on the list.

The announcement of the winner of the Bednarik Award will be made during the Home Depot College Football Awards Show that will be broadcast on ESPN on Thursday, Dec. 6, 2007. Three finalists for the award will be in attendance for the ESPN broadcast. The formal presentation of the award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club's Awards Dinner, to be held on Friday March 7, 2008 at the Harrah's Entertainment Complex in Atlantic City, N.J.

Voting for the award presented by the Maxwell Football Club will begin on Wednesday Nov. 7 and close on Friday Nov. 30.

The semifinalists are listed in alphabetical order with the player's school, position and class designated.

Ali Highsmith, LSU, LB, Sr.
Calais Campbell, University of Miami, DE, Jr.
Xavier Adibi, Virginia Tech, LB, Sr.
James Laurinatis, Ohio State University, LB, Jr.
Dan Connor, Penn State University, LB, Sr.
J Leman, University of Illinois, LB, Sr.
Shawn Crable, University of Michigan, LB, Sr.
Jordan Dizon, University of Colorado, LB, Sr.
Chris Long, University of Virginia, DE, Sr.
Glenn Dorsey, LSU, DL, Sr.
Sedrick Ellis, University of Southen California, DE, Sr.
George Selvie, University of South Florida, DL, So.
Bruce Davis, UCLA, DL, Sr.
Antoine Cason, University of Arizona, DB, Sr.
Wesley Woodyard, University of Kentucky, LB, Sr.