Beamer one of eight finalists for 2007 Eddie Robinson Award
FWAA Coach of the Year to be named on Jan. 4
December 6, 2007

DALLAS - Virginia Tech head football coach Frank Beamer has been named one of the eight finalists for the 2007 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award, as announced Wednesday by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA).

Beamer, who won the award in 1999 during Tech's run to the national championship game, has guided the 2007 Hokies to an 11-2 record and the ACC Championship after knocking off Boston College 30-16 in the conference title game on Dec. 1. It is the fourth 11-win season in program history, and the Hokies have a chance to lock up their first 12-win campaign with a victory in the Orange Bowl on Jan. 3.

Beamer will be joined on the ballot for the Eddie Robinson Award - which will be voted on by the entire membership of the FWAA - by seven other finalists: Air Force's Troy Calhoun, Arizona State's Dennis Erickson, Hawaii's June Jones, Kansas' Mark Mangino, Missouri's Gary Pinkel, Ohio State's Jim Tressel and Illinois' Ron Zook. FWAA members will be asked to vote for their top three choices.

The FWAA coaching award is named after the late Robinson, a coaching legend at Grambling State University for 55 years. He has more Division I victories (408) than any other coach.

The winner of the FWAA/Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award will be announced and honored at a reception on Jan. 4 in New Orleans in conjunction with the BCS Championship Game.

Beamer has built a record of 167-84-2 during his 21-year tenure in Blacksburg, and on Jan. 3, he will lead the Hokies into their 15th-consecutive bowl game as Tech takes on the Kansas Jayhawks in the FedEx Orange Bowl.

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of nearly 1,000 men and women across North America who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game day operations, major awards, a national poll and its annual All-America team.