Dunlevy one of 11 ACC football scholar-athletes honored
Kicker named member of the 2008 NFF Hampshire Honor Society
April 10, 2008

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Eleven Atlantic Coast Conference football student-athletes have been honored by the National Football Foundation (NFF) and College Hall of Fame as members of the 2008 NFF Hampshire Honor Society, which is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a 3.2 GPA or better.

The NFF's Hampshire Honor Society capitalizes on the NFF's current National Scholar-Athlete program, greatly expanding the number of scholar-athletes the NFF can recognize each year and further strengthening its leadership role in encouraging academic performance by the student-athletes who play football at the more than 700 college and universities with football programs.

Qualifications for membership into this year's inaugural NFF Honor Society include:
  1. Being a starter or significant substitute in one's last year of eligibility at an accredited NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III or NAIA college or university;
  2. Achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout the entire course of undergraduate study; and
  3. Meeting all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements.

In all, 11 2007 senior ACC football student-athletes were honored including Virginia's Tom Santi (Nashville, Tenn.), who was chosen earlier as the winner of the ACC's Jim Tatum Award, which is presented annually to the Conference's top senior football scholar-athlete. Joining Santi in being honored by the National Football Foundation are Nick Larkin (Cincinnati, Ohio) of Boston College; Patrick Bailey (Elmendorf, Tex.) and Matt Rumsey (Dunwoody, Ga.) of Duke; Kevin Tuminello (Youngstown, Ohio) of Georgia Tech; Steve Hauschka (Needham, Mass.) of NC State; Joe Dailey (Jersey City, N.J.) of North Carolina; Jud Dunlevy (Roanoke Rapids, N.C.) of Virginia Tech; and Louis Frazier (Clearwater, Fla.), Zac Selmon (Norman, Okla.), and Jeremy Thompson (Charlotte, NC) of Wake Forest.