April 24, 2008
Beamer, Curry preparing to defend golf title
Tech twosome to tee off Tuesday in Georgia

Greensboro, Ga. - Virginia Tech football coach Frank Beamer and former Hokie basketball great Dell Curry will return to defend their title at the Chick-fil-A Bowl Alma Mater at Reynolds Plantation on April 29. The nation's premier head coach and celebrity golf event will again assemble a "who's who" list of teams competing against their rivals for a $375,000 scholarship purse.

Last year's champs, Beamer and Curry, will be joined by an impressive list of top NCAA head coaches and celebrities. In all, 14 teams are scheduled to hit the links - all vying for the $100,000 first-place prize.

Newly added teams from Boston College - including head football coach Jeff Jagodinski and actor Chris O'Donnell - and UConn - with head basketball coach Jim Calhoun and former NBA forward Donny Marshall - will help make this the most elite coach and celebrity golf event in the country.

Other returning players include Ralph Friedgen (Maryland), Jim Grobe (Wake Forest), Nick Saban (Alabama), Steve Spurrier (South Carolina) and Tommy Tuberville (Auburn).

"This field of coaches and celebrities is simply awesome," said Gary Stokan, Chick-fil-A Bowl president. "One thing is for sure, this year's match will be even more toughly contested than last year's. These guys are coming out here to win."

The Chick-fil-A Bowl Alma Mater at Reynolds Plantation features pairings that include a university head coach and a celebrity alumnus from the same school competing in a scramble format against other university teams from around the country.

Hokie basketball great Dell Curry, Chick-fil-A Bowl president Gary Stokan, head coach Frank Beamer

The celebrity round will be taped for broadcast and aired nationally by CBS from 2-4 p.m. (ET) on Christmas Day.

In addition to the $375,000 scholarship purse, another $50,000 of the proceeds will be donated to the Reynolds Foundation.

"We are blessed to be in a position to give back through this event and continue our support of college scholarships and our community by donating a total of $425,000 back to the participating universities and the Reynolds Foundation," Stokan said.

For more information on the event, visit www.Chick-fil-ABowlAlmaMater.com.

The 2008 field currently includes:

Alabama Nick Saban Ken Stabler
Auburn Tommy Tuberville Pat Sullivan
Boston College Jeff Jagodinski Chris O'Donnell
Georgia Tech Paul Johnson Jon Barry
Maryland Ralph Friedgen Neil O'Donnell
South Carolina Steve Spurrier Sterling Sharpe
UCLA Rick Neuheisel Sinjin Smith
UConn Jim Calhoun Donny Marshall
Virginia Tech Frank Beamer Dell Curry
Wake Forest Jim Grobe Billy Packer

For updates on Virginia Tech football, follow the Hokies on Twitter (@VT_Football).

HokieSports Shop