Render, Harris named to preseason All-ACC squad
Clemson's Harper tabbed player of the year
July 23, 2008

GREENSBORO, Ga. - Virginia Tech football players Sergio Render and Victor Harris have been named to the 2008 preseason All-ACC squad, as announced by the conference this afternoon. Clemson quarterback Cullen Harper was selected as the preseason ACC Football Player of the Year by media attending the annual ACC Football Kickoff earlier this week at Reynolds Plantation in Greensboro, Ga.

Render is a junior offensive guard from Newnan, Ga., while Harris is a senior cornerback from Highland Springs, Va.

Harper, who set 21 school records and was named second-team All-ACC quarterback in 2007, received 34 votes in the balloting. His teammate, senior running back James Davis, was second, being named on 16 ballots. No other player received more than four votes. Tech senior quarterback Sean Glennon received two votes while Harris received one.

Clemson, which was tabbed by the same media group as the preseason choice to capture the 2008 ACC title, had four individuals on the pre-season squad, as did Florida State and Wake Forest. Nine of the league's 12 schools were represented in the 25-player group.

Seven players who earned first-team All-ACC honors in 2007 were on this year's preseason team - Davis and wide receiver Aaron Kelly of Clemson, tight end Ryan Purvis of Boston College, offensive tackle Andrew Gardner and defensive tackle Vance Walker of Georgia Tech, and cornerbacks Alphonso Smith of Wake Forest and the Hokies' Harris.

2008 Preseason All-ACC Football Team

QB - Cullen Harper, Clemson
RB - Josh Adams, Wake Forest 
RB - James Davis, Clemson 
WR - Aaron Kelly, Clemson
WR - Hakeem Nicks, North Carolina
TE - Ryan Purvis, Boston College
T - Andrew Gardner, Georgia Tech
T - Eugene Monroe, Virginia
G - Rodney Hudson, Florida State
G - Sergio Render, Virginia Tech
C - Edwin Williams, Maryland

DE - Everette Brown, Florida State
DE - Michael Johnson, Georgia Tech
DT - Ron Brace, Boston College
DT - Vance Walker, Georgia Tech
LB - Aaron Curry, Wake Forest
LB - Clint Sintim, Virginia
LB - Brian Toal, Boston College
CB - Victor Harris, Virginia Tech
CB - Alphonso Smith, Wake Forest
S - Michael Hamlin, Clemson
S - Myron Rolle, Florida State

PK - Sam Swank, Wake Forest
P - Graham Gano, Florida State
RET - Brandon Tate, North Carolina

Preseason Voting Totals
Player of the Year (64)

Cullen Harper - 34
James Davis - 16
C.J. Spiller - 4
Josh Adams - 2
Sean Glennon - 2
Riley Skinner - 2
Drew Weatherford - 2
Aaron Curry - 1
Victor Harris - 1