October 31, 2008
Keys named semifinalist for Lou Groza National Collegiate Place Kicker Award
Senior is 16-for-19 on the year on field goals

WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. - The Palm Beach County (Florida) Sports Commission has released its 20 semifinalists for the 2008 Lou Groza Collegiate Place Kicker Award, presented by the FedEx Orange Bowl. These 20 kickers have all excelled throughout the season in earning their places as semifinalists.

Among this year's candidates for the 17th annual award are 2007 semifinalists Louie Sakoda - an all-conference player (Mountain West Conference) of Utah - and former honorable mention All-America Jeff Wolfert of Missouri. A 64-yard field goal helped UTEP's Jose Martinez, one of the 2007 finalists make the final 20 again this year.

Also included are Josh Arauco of Arkansas State and Jonathan Phillips of Florida who have yet to miss a field goal or extra point try this season. Kevin Kelly of Penn State led the nation in kick scoring with 86 points at the time of this selection.

Virginia Tech senior Dustin Keys also made the list. The Stafford, Va., native is 16-for-19 on the year in field goals, making 11 in a row at one point. He is among the national leaders in field goals per game and has made three 45-yarders.

Also making the cut from the ACC are Miami’s Matt Bosher and Florida State’s Graham Gano.

A panel consisting of all Division 1 coaches and SIDs will vote on semifinalists, along with national, regional and local football writers and others who will select the three (3) finalists. These finalists will be invited to the Lou Groza Collegiate Place Kicker Awards Banquet Dec. 7-9 in West Palm Beach, Fla. The winner will be announced live on the nationally televised Home Deport ESPNU College Football Awards Program on the evening of Dec. 11, 2008.

The award is named in honor of one of the all-time great kickers in Football history, Lou Groza. Groza played 21 seasons for the Cleveland Browns setting numerous franchise records, including most games played, most points scored, and an amazing 107 consecutive games in which he scored a point. The 1,608 career points he scored is still a Browns' franchise record, and he ranks third all-time in league. Groza was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1974.

Past Groza finalists include current NFL kickers Nate Kaeding, Sebastion Janikowski, Mike Nugent, Martin Gramatica, Jason Elam and Mason Crosby.

The Lou Groza Collegiate Place Kicker Award presented by the Fed Ex Orange bowl will be announced on the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards aired on ESPN on Thursday, Dec. 11. The three finalists will be honored at the Lou Groza Awards Banquet at the Palm Beach County Convention Center on Tuesday, Dec. 9.

For updates on Virginia Tech football, follow the Hokies on Twitter (@VT_Football).

HokieSports Shop