December 1, 2008
Harris named first-team All-ACC
Four others named to second team squad

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Virginia Tech senior cornerback Victor “Macho” Harris was named first-team All-ACC Monday afternoon, as selected by ACSMA/AP, the media association for the Atlantic Coast Conference. Four other Hokies were named to the second team while three were named to the honorable mention squad.

Harris, a senior from Highland Springs, Va., made the first team for the second year in a row as a cornerback. He has six interceptions, returning two for touchdowns, to go along with five pass break ups. Harris also returns punts and has played offense this year. He has 42 tackles, including 2.5 for loss, a forced fumble and a fumble recovery.

Making the second team were freshman running back Darren Evans, junior offensive guard Sergio Render, senior defensive end Orion Martin and sophomore defensive end Jason Worilds.

Evans heads into the ACC Championship game with a Tech freshman record 998 yards and nine touchdowns. Render made the All-ACC squad for the first time, playing 791 snaps on offense and 840 total snaps this year. Worilds, a redshirt sophomore, is second in the conference with 16.5 tackles for loss while Martin, a redshirt senior, is third in the league with 7.5 sacks.

Senior Nick Marshman (offensive guard), senior Ryan Shuman (center) and senior Dustin Keys (kicker) were named to the honorable mention squad.

2008 ACSMA/AP All-ACC Football Team
(Total Points) -- Maximum 134 Points / 67 Voters
OFFENSE First Team Second Team
Quarterback Russell Wilson, NC State, Fr. (106) Thaddeus Lewis, Duke, Jr. (28)
Running Back Jonathan Dwyer, Georgia Tech, So. (134) #
Da'Rel Scott, Maryland, So. (76)
Darren Evans, Virginia Tech, Fr. (58)
C.J. Spiller, Clemson, Jr. (50)
Wide Receiver Hakeem Nicks, North Carolina, Jr. (130)
D.J. Boldin, Wake Forest, Sr. (76)
Eron Riley, Duke, Sr. (57)
Aaron Kelly, Clemson, Sr. (56)
Tight End John Phillips, Virginia, Sr. (88) Ryan Purvis, Boston College, Sr. (45)
Tackle Eugene Monroe, Virginia, Sr. (117)
Andrew Gardner, Georgia Tech, Sr. (107)
Garrett Reynolds, North Carolina, Sr. (42)
Anthony Castonzo, Boston College, So. (41)
Guard Rodney Hudson, Florida State, So. (99)
Clif Ramsey, Boston College, Sr. (78)
Sergio Render, Virginia Tech, Jr. (48)
Cord Howard, Georgia Tech, Jr. (45)
Center Edwin Williams, Maryland, Sr. (62) Thomas Austin, Clemson, Jr. (48)
Honorable Mention (20 points or more)
QB - Riley Skinner, Wake Forest, Jr. (26)
RB - Antone Smith, Florida State, Sr. (33); Cedric Peerman, Virginia, Sr. (30)
WR - Darius Heyward-Bey, Maryland, Jr. (34); Kevin Ogletree, Virginia, Jr. (32)
TE - Dan Gronkowski, Maryland, Sr. (41)
OT - Scott Burley, Maryland, Sr. (34)
OG - Thomas Claiborne, Boston College, So. (38); Calvin Darity, North Carolina, Sr. (34); Jaimie Thomas, Maryland, Sr. (33); Nick Marshman, Virginia Tech, Sr. (24)
C - Ryan McMahon, Florida State, Sr. (35); Matt Tennant, Boston College, Jr. (33); Ryan Shuman, Virginia Tech, Sr. (23)
DEFENSE First Team Second Team
Defensive End Everette Brown, Florida State, Jr. (131)
Michael Johnson, Georgia Tech, Sr. (99)
Orion Martin, Virginia Tech, Sr. (61)
Jason Worilds, Virginia Tech, So. (39)
Defensive Tackle B.J. Raji, Boston College, Sr. (103)
Vance Walker, Georgia Tech, Sr. (62)
Ron Brace, Boston College, Sr. (52)
Darryl Richard, Georgia Tech, Sr. (50)
Linebacker Mark Herzlich, Boston College, Jr. (118)
Michael Tauiliili, Duke, Sr. (110)
Aaron Curry, Wake Forest, Sr. (106)
Clint Sintim, Virginia, Sr. (79)
Alex Wujciak, Maryland, So. (43)
Mark Paschal, North Carolina, Sr. (40)
Cornerback Alphonso Smith, Wake Forest, Sr. (134) #
Victor Harris, Virginia Tech, Sr. (125)
Ras-I Dowling, Virginia, So. (49)
Tony Carter, Florida State, Sr. (34) tie
Kendric Burney, North Carolina, So. (34)
Safety Trimane Goddard, North Carolina, Sr. (105)
Michael Hamlin, Clemson, Gr. (89)
Morgan Burnett, Georgia Tech, So. (85)
Myron Rolle, Florida State, Jr. (55)
Honorable Mention (20 points or more)
DE - Derrick Morgan, Georgia Tech, So. (26); Willie Young, NC State, Jr. (25)
DT - Vince Oghobaase, Duke, Jr. (40); Boo Robinson, Wake Forest, Jr. (31); Jeremy Navarre, Maryland, Sr. (29)
LB - Nate Irving, NC State, So. (28)
S - Paul Anderson, Boston College, Sr. (35); Anthony Reddick, Miami, Sr. (23)
SPECIAL TEAMS First Team Second Team
Placekicker Graham Gano, Florida State, Sr. (127) Matt Bosher, Miami, So. (34)
Punter Travis Baltz, Maryland, So. (105) Matt Bosher, Miami, So. (60)
Specialist C.J. Spiller, Clemson, Gr. (66) Michael Ray Garvin, Florida State, Sr. (41)
Honorable Mention (20 points or more)
PK - Dustin Keys, Virginia Tech, Sr. (25)
SP - Brandon Tate, North Carolina, Sr. (33); T.J. Graham, NC State, Fr. (31)

# - Unanimous Selection

For updates on Virginia Tech football, follow the Hokies on Twitter (@VT_Football).

HokieSports Shop