January 8, 2009
Evans named to FWAA Freshman All-America squad
Four ACC players honored

FT. LAUDERDALE, Fla. - The Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) and Aon Insurance announced their eighth annual Freshman All-America Team on Thursday morning during the association's annual awards breakfast. Each member of the team will receive a custom-designed mini helmet courtesy of Schutt Sports, the world's leading maker of football helmets and faceguards.

Tech’s Darren Evans and Oregon State’s Jacquizz Rogers were the two running backs selected. Evans, a redshirt freshman from Indianapolis, Ind., rushed for 1,265 yards and 11 touchdowns this year. He finished the season with a bang, rushing for 153 yards and a score en route to Orange Bowl MVP honors.

The Atlantic Coast, Big Ten, Southeastern, Big 12 and Pacific-10 conferences each placed four players on the 27-man team. Conference USA was the only other conference with multiple players on the team with two. Of the 27 players selected, 15 were true freshmen and 12 were redshirt freshmen.

In addition, Georgia Tech coach Paul Johnson was named the top first-year coach at his school after leading the Yellow Jackets to a 9-4 season and a berth in the Chick-Fil-A Bowl.

The team and coach are selected by a 11-person panel of writers led by Mike Griffith of the Knoxville News Sentinel. Both true freshmen and redshirt freshmen were considered for the team and are so noted. A total of 116 players were nominated for the team and considered by the committee.

The entire team can be found here.

For updates on Virginia Tech football, follow the Hokies on Twitter (@VT_Football).

HokieSports Shop